Family Responsibilities

This morning, as I walked into my laundry room to grab something out of the dryer, I smiled at the laundry basket sitting, barely full, on the counter. Why, you ask? Well, because of the jobs we’ve instituted over the years in our home to make our lives easier.. I mean, to help our children become more responsible. Yea.. that’s it!

Anyways, it made me think of all the moms out there who are knee deep in sippy cups and potty training, who wonder if there will ever be a day when she gets “caught up”. I don’t know, friend. The truth is, I believe you will feel caught up at some point, but I’m not sure when that is exactly. Maybe when our kids leave our home? For today, my encouragement is that “help is on the way” if you train your kids to be “helpers”.

We instituted jobs in our home that didn’t come with a dollar attached while they were five years old or so; simple tasks, like emptying small bathroom garbage cans or taking down laundry in their bathrooms. We feel like tasking certain jobs in a home are your family responsibility. There are a lot of us here and so it takes a lot of us to make things run smoothly…or at least efficiently.

I feel like my life has changed since doing this! My oldest daughter folds one basket of laundry each day and puts the clothes away. My second oldest unloads the dishwasher every day, which in honor of full disclosure, I’ll tell you that we put two dishwashers into this house when we built it, because I love to cook, and it has been the BEST decision we’ve made! We never have dishes in the sink and I absolutely love that. All we lost was one cabinet and my kitchen got a whole lot cleaner. I’ll take it!! My third child cleans the bathroom that the majority of them use; meaning, she brings dirty clothes to the laundry room and empties the garbage. Three major areas of use are now taken care of, because “we’re a family and so we all help out”.

So, mama of young children, there is light at the end of the oatmeal-faced tunnel. But, don’t be quick to wish these young years away. Kiss those chubby fingers and hold them close. It will be over before you can say, “stop playing in the toilet!”…again!

What kind of jobs do your kids do?? I’d love to hear!

 

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Homeschool, Motherhood, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Family Responsibilities

  1. Microsoft account team says:

    I absolutely love you !!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Stephanie says:

    Love it. I had a similar ‘ah-ha’ moment the other day…many hands make light work. Our boys have been on vacuuming duty for several years…and we are expanding their responsibilities a bit each year. Thanks for sharing what works for your family….you have given me new ideas about the laundry!!

Leave a Reply

