Meager Offerings

It was a typical scene at my house. Little girls hovered around a bedtime Bible story, most of which they’ve heard read over and over through the years. One was giggling and trying to jump on her bed, while another was intent on listening. On this particular night, we read that a crowd had gathered to hear Jesus; a crowd, who were obviously looking for something. Healing maybe? Perhaps this man had the answer to their needs.

As Jesus looked out on the crowds, he asked his disciples where they would get enough bread to feed these people numbering in the thousands. None of Jesus’ disciples had a good answer. They knew they didn’t have the money to provide for so many needs. It appears that the disciples began looking around at what each family had to offer, because Andrew spoke up with his findings. “There is a boy here who has five barley loaves and two fish, but what are they for so many?”

As I read this to my girls, it struck me. Why did Andrew even speak up about these 5 little loaves of poor man’s bread and some pickled fish? Why, when he could look out at the crowds of people who were obviously hungry, would he even mention this meager offering?

Was it because he wanted to see what Jesus could do? Was it because he believed that maybe, just maybe this guy they had been following around really could do something extraordinary?

As I finished reading the story to my girls, I couldn’t help but feel that nudge. It’s the kind that comes from the Lord as you read his Word, which takes you back to your own bigger Bible to read the story again. I left with the same belief.

I believe Andrew longed to see Jesus do the impossible.

Ever been there?

Ever wonder if you’re in over your head, like you’re looking out at the sea of people and you’re somehow supposed to provide something for them and you just don’t know how it’s going to happen? If you’re a mom, you’ve probably experienced this feeling a million times over. How will I teach them all they need? Will it be enough? How will I shepherd their little hearts to love you God, when I make so many mistakes myself?

The answer is in this amazing Bible story….

Like the little boy and Andrew, you give your meager offering today, and watch God multiply it to meet their needs.

Walk obediently about your day, which might even feel insignificant and boring at times and observe how God uses what you’ve given him to care for his people. He performs the miracles; we are required to be obedient.

Your little is his BIG!

*Scripture from John 6

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Meager Offerings

  1. Yes…great post. Your little is His big! Walk obediently and He performs the miracles. Needed reminder!

  2. Scott Lehr says:

    Great post. Thank you for sharing this today. I needed it.

  3. Sally Allen says:

    This brought tears. Thank you, sweet Shanna!

    • shannalehr says:

      Sweet friend, thanks for reading!!

      • Andy Rivard says:

        You amaze me with your writing. Your posts are always so spot on. Never stop writing and sharing whatever it is at the time that the Lord puts into your heart to share. You’re truly making a difference in so many people’s lives that read your post. Praise God!!

  4. shannalehr says:

    Andy, that’s so kind and encouraging! Thank you so much!!

Leave a Reply

