Sugar cookies and other Merry treats

Merry Christmas friends!! Can you believe it’s only a week away? Some of you just had a mini-heart attack. (I hope not!) Wherever you are today in your Christmas preparations, I want to encourage you to remember what this season is all about. It isn’t the cookies and presents or parties and extra traffic although those will all likely be a part of this season. The real reason we celebrate is because the Savior of the world came to us as a baby. His arrival rocked the world! As a benefactor of the life change that he brings, I try to soak in every (fun) aspect of this season. I drank this little gem yesterday and had a few quiet moments to myself. Boy did that hit the spot!

christmasdrinkI began the Christmas season feeling many of the same stresses that often come with it, but after a “come to Jesus” moment, I turned that around and chose to focus on HIM instead of the other distractions that so easily steal my joy during the “most wonderful time of year”. I’ve been reading through the gospels and that has been especially timely and encouraging.

I am still homeschooling my girls, which is proving to be so much more difficult right now. All we really want to do is play Christmas music, watch Christmas movies, make cookies…decorate Christmas cookies….eat Christmas cookies…you get the picture. While I honestly cringe a little when all of my girls gather in the kitchen and ask to pour in the flour (because I know where it will all go), I am thankful for these moments that I have to share this yearly tradition with them.

20141218_104419My littlest lady was helping me make sugar cookies today and I got thinking, maybe you’d enjoy this tried and true recipe that I’ve been making for about the past 13 years. The Almond extract is delightful and my oldest daughter claims that it just “makes these cookies”. Take her word for it. They are really good.

So, Merry Christmas from me to you! Enjoy!

Sugar Cookies:

1 1/2 c powdered sugar

1 c unsalted butter

1 tsp Almond extract

1 tsp Vanilla extract

1 egg

2 1/2 c Flour

Mix softened butter and sugar until lumps appear. Add almond extract, vanilla, and egg. Blend well with hand mixer until creamy. Stir in flour and blend well.

Cover and refrigerate for 2 hours or until ready to bake.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cut shapes and place on a lightly greased pan. Cook 8-9 minutes, but don’t let them brown.

Yields approximately 2 1/2 dozen.

There are many types of frosting that you can use. This is the one I use. It is not terribly smooth, but it tastes soooo good! So, that has to count for something!!

Sugar cookie frosting:

1 c unsalted butter

1 lb powdered sugar

1/8 tsp salt

1/2 tsp vanilla

(food coloring to color)

Beat softened butter and sugar until smooth. Add salt and vanilla and beat well. Divide into desired bowls and frost cookies.

Let everything that has breath praise the Lord! Psalm 150:6

 

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

