You thrill me!

I love when I read scripture that feels like the author is “speaking my language”. We all have phrases are that are common to us and this particular one, caught my attention today. “You thrill me, Lord, with all you have done for me!”

*The author is not stated, but some believe it is David, so I will refer to him.

I feel David’s passion in this verse. You know that bubbling-over, almost could cry, about to burst kind of feeling? He had it. I hope you’ve had these moments where you’ve sensed the Lord’s presence so fully that it was palpable. Where you recalled his faithfulness to you or just felt His love so completely that you almost felt wrapped in a big warm hug.

Psalm 92 is a lavish praise Psalm. Read over these words and let yourself praise the One to whom they were written:

It is good to give thanks to the Lord, to sing praises to the Most High. It is good to proclaim your unfailing love in the morning, your faithfulness in the evening, accompanied by the harp and lute and the harmony of the lyre. You thrill me, Lord, with all you have done for me! I sing for joy because of what you have done. vs.1-4

I also love that David sings this praise to God because he feels loved first thing in the morning. Wouldn’t it make a difference in our days if we acknowledged how much the Lord loves us and set truths about Him in front of our eyes first thing in the morning? I imagine that victory rather than defeat would be the anthem of our day.

Some of you don’t “feel loved”, because you don’t truly understand the gospel. I invite you to dig further into God’s word so that you begin to have a greater understanding of the One who loves you, not because of how you perform, but because you are His CHILD.

In the evening, David is still recounting the Lord’s faithfulness, as though the day were now done and he takes a moment to just thank the Lord for being present. First thing in the morning and then again in the evening. I have to believe that David really just thought about the Lord all day long.

I’m going to make it a priority this week to praise the Lord and acknowledge His love first thing in the morning and then recount His faithfulness over my day in the evening. While we have little control over what happens during the day, we certainly can control who we turn to in the midst of our circumstances. I choose to go to the One who thrills me! Would you want to join me this week? Let me know you were here!

 

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Church, Motherhood, Uncategorized, Women and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You thrill me!

  1. Dave Lenhart says:

    Great reminder of God’s goodness to us. Thank you for your observations and intentionality!

Leave a Reply

