Third year down!

This was our third year of homeschooling and I finally feel like we’re hitting our “sweet spot”. One fact I’ve found to be true about homeschooling is that some days are hard (and I need reminders on why I’ve chosen this route) and others are really great. I’m learning not to be too upset about the ones that aren’t so great. It’s just part of schooling my own kids and the more I accept it and try to roll with it, the less frustrating it becomes. Maybe the real lesson (for me) is realizing that I actually learn more from the hard days. God is strengthening me in character and growing me in so many ways as I teach these little girls. My dependence on him has reached new levels!

20140216_185118I have been empowered by schooling my own kids. They are learning tremendous amounts and are acquiring a zest for learning. This is one of the goals after all. I want them to thirst to know more and for the God who created it all. At the center of a truly Classical Christian education, is the Lord. He is in all subjects and they all relate to each other. It’s a rich experience and I’d recommend it to almost anyone. (Insert smile) I’ve also enjoyed learning along with them. Classical Conversations, our home school program, often talks about redeeming two generations of students, the parents teaching their children and the students enrolled in the program. I was not trained classically, but I am thrilled that my children will be, and I will reap the benefit of learning along with them. I was however, trained in a Christian school and am so thankful that my parents sacrificed to allow me to learn in an environment that was free from many of the influences that many children face before they may be truly ready to face them.

Right now, I’m reading a good book called, “Repairing the Ruins”: The Classical & Christian Challenge to Modern Education by several different educators. I’m excited to hear from others who embrace this style of learning and can impart their wisdom to me. I’m also planning to challenge myself with a little Latin over the summer as my girls have recently started a program that they love. One of the best decisions for me personally, has been to jump in with both feet and enjoy this learning process with them, instead of saying things like “I’m not doing that. I’ve already been through the second grade.” Yes, I’ve said that! I am having so much more fun as I embrace the lessons and choose to become a learner myself. However, as you may have noticed, I’m not blogging nearly as much these days. There is only so much time in a day and since there isn’t time to do it all, I happily do what I can.

Over the summer, I plan to have the girls memorize some scripture passages and read as much as they can, while also enjoying some downtime with their friends and family. Later this week, I hope to post pictures of our end of the school year field trip to New York City!! I hope you’ll come back.

 

 

 

 

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Homeschool, Motherhood, Uncategorized, Women and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

