Obstacles

Our school year is drawing to a close here at the Lehr home. I’ll try to hit some highlights in another post for those of you wondering if you’d ever survive homeschooling your children. Some days, I wonder the same thing! But then, God graciously shows me again that this is the path for us, for now, and I am encouraged.

We started a Latin program the other day that we are just loving. Don’t be too impressed, I only wish I could speak another language. I’m hoping that my children will get the language gene by osmosis! Interestingly, my girls have begged me to do Latin every day since we bought it. I am now using it as a “reward” for doing their other work in a timely manner. Never in a million years did I imagine that scenario! However, with songs and DVD’s, Song school Latin has become a celebrated addition to our curriculum.

I recently learned in our study that the American word for “stuff” is impedimentum in Latin, which is where we get our word “impediment”. Impediment means “obstacle or hindrance”. So, we could conclude that our “stuff” is an obstacle or something that slows us down. I have to admit that this was an “ah-ha” moment for me.

Hebrews 12:1 tells us to throw off everything that entangles us (slows us down) including our sin, and run the race set before us with great perseverance. I know that some of you are wondering where you could buy some perseverance today! You’re tired and worn out and wonder how you can do much more than simply survive the day. I understand. I’ve been there many times. But, I don’t want to only survive! I want to flourish! And I bet you do as well. He knows your need today, ask him to meet you there.

If you are a believer in Jesus Christ, then he has chosen you as his “plan A” to grab the hands of the lost and help them cross the finish line. Some of those people are your very own children. So, run with perseverance today! Throw off the many “impediments” that will try to slow you down. Some of us need to get off our technology and focus on discipling our children. Some of us need to quit being so entertained and “busy” in order to hear from the Lord and experience the intimate relationship he is waiting to have with us. Hold on tight to Jesus for strength and endurance when you feel you have none. We can’t do this on our own, but with him, we run victorious!

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. Hebrews 12:1 NIV

 

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Homeschool, Motherhood, Women and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Obstacles

  1. That is exactly why I enjoyed the few latin words I learned in Spanish class. 🙂

Leave a Reply

