Praying through my home

My poor kids have been sick on and off for about 10 days now. We’ve had days of relief and then like a blow to the gut, the sickness is back. In a moment of desperation today, the Lord reminded me of something so very simple: I need to pray through this. But not just about the sickness as I frantically wipe every possible germ-housing surface off with Clorox wipes in my hand. I need to pray through my whole home intentionally, because I believe God cares about what happens here.

I’ve done it before. The last time was with a heart of pure joy and gratitude, only days after signing the papers to own our home. My husband and I were both spent by the process of getting in it, which required 90 showings to sell our previous home. Yes, you read that right. It wasn’t a typo: 90….9-0…90.

We walked through each room adoring the craftsmanship and colors. We talked about what would happen in those rooms and dreamed a little. Then, together, we prayed. We asked the Lord to bless that room and all the wonderful things we’d do in each one of them. We asked him to bless the people who would enter it and those we’d have the opportunity to love in it, especially our own children. We walked to each of their rooms and did it all again, dedicating this new wonderful place to the Lord. It was special and I’ll just not forget how I felt that night when we went to bed. Perhaps no one has slept so peacefully in a new place.

Today, there were different kinds of prayers as I walked through portions of my home. Some prayers were desperate and some were thankful. As I walked into the Laundry room where there were piles of clothes and sheets from a sick little girl, I asked the Lord to fill our home with health and to give me a heart of willful service as I care for my family. This reminder of service is one that most laundry rooms could use. Can I get an Amen??! I also asked him to take this burden of illness and carry its heavy load, because apparently what I’m doing isn’t working.

As I walked into bedrooms, I was reminded to pray for these little hearts that call this place home and to tenderly cultivate them, so that they will grow to love Christ.

In my kitchen, I prayed that I will serve meals that honor the Lord, not those that are simply quick. I am teaching my children a life-time of habits that affect their every day in this room and if no other room needs prayer, this one does. Ladies, I urge you to pray in your kitchen. Your attitude about food and health either points your children to Christ or shows them that what the outside voices are saying is actually what is true. What truth will your family see in your kitchen?

We all have different sized homes. Some are big and some are small, but since people live in them, prayer is needed to cover them all!!

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Church, Homeschool, Motherhood, Uncategorized, Women and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

