Let heaven fill your thoughts

Sometimes, as I read scriptures I’ve read over and over, I’m reminded that these ancient words are for today, for now. In Colossians 3, Paul gives a simple, but timely exhortation for today:

Since you’ve been raised to new life with Christ, set your sights on the realities of heaven, where Christ sits at the right hand in the place of honor and power. Let heaven fill your thoughts. Do not only think only about things down here on earth. For you died when Christ died, and your real life is hidden with Christ in God. Colossians 3:1-3

As a Mom, my days are often filled with to-do lists, what to make for dinner, and home school tasks. But as I read these verses, I’m reminded that these things are temporary. What isn’t temporary is my children’s eternal destiny and they are my mission today. I’m a missionary in my own home. I have the responsibility and privilege to share Jesus Christ, the one I love and have given my life to, with my four children. I can point them to HIM as we navigate through daily disciplines, fights with sisters, and the beauty of the sky outside our door. It’s no simple task for me and it’s no simple task for you, if you also have this privilege. Let heaven fill your thoughts and point others to creator of it all!

This is how I will flourish today!

 

 

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Church, Homeschool, Motherhood, Uncategorized, Women and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Let heaven fill your thoughts

  1. This is a great reminder as we are going through a super clingy & naughty stage. 🙂 Yesterday was really tough, but today is a new day to try again!

    • shannalehr says:

      That’s right, Tanya. Keep at it! No discipline is pleasant at the time but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it. Hebrews 12:11 😉

  2. Some of favorite words in Scripture are: Your real life is HIDDEN WITH CHRIST IN GOD. Hoping I grasp the reality of this more and more. This is such a great application, Shan! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

