Remember them..

Hey friend, I have a question for you. Who was it that first taught you about the Bible? Was it your Mom or Dad? A teacher or a pastor?

I ran across this verse the other day and knew I had to share it with you:

“Remember your leaders who first taught you the Word of God. Think of all the good that has come from their lives, and trust the Lord as they do.” Hebrews 13:7

So, I’ve been doing some reminiscing….

God was so gracious in giving me parents, who while learning God’s Word for the first time themselves, began imparting that truth to my sisters and I.

As a young child, I can remember lessons about tithing as I clung tightly to a crisp one-dollar bill in my hand. “You know Shanna, this isn’t all yours. Some of this belongs to the Lord” my dad would say.

Some of these lessons can be hard, (especially for a little girl who is saving for a new doll) until you realize that everything you have is a gift from God anyways. But, this simple truth sunk down into my heart as a little girl, so when my husband sat down with me a week after our honeymoon to write out our new family budget, it wasn’t a question as to whether or not we would tithe. The truth was already there.

I think the greatest lesson of my life was realizing what Jesus had done to pay for my sins. I was six years old when my Mom prayed with me and Jesus became my Savior. That night, I waited for her to come to my room and read me a story, but I didn’t just want the story, I wanted Jesus. My Mom faithfully read to us out a of a very large, red-leather Bible story-book. But on that particular night, she witnessed more than a little girl who was delighted by a story, instead my eternal destiny had changed! I can’t tell you how thankful I am that she consistently took those moments to share God’s truth with me!

When I was 5 or 6, I had a sweet Sunday-School teacher named Mary Jane, who would bring “flannel graphs”, which gripped my attention every week. I couldn’t wait for her to introduce another character in a story, be it a disciple or Jesus himself. My insides would just squeal with excitement!  And our class of little girls would hang on her every word when those flannel figures made an appearance.

So, as I came across this scripture, I couldn’t help but reminisce about all the people who contributed to my love for the Lord:

“Remember your leaders who first taught you the Word of God. Think of all the good that has come from their lives, and trust the Lord as they do.”

So I remembered and it was sweet.

These people who served in their homes and served in their churches played an instrumental role in my love for the Lord. They helped shape and mold my heart to follow Him and wow.. am I grateful!

So, I wonder who first taught you?

Thank the Lord for them today and maybe you’ll choose to be that leader in someone else’s life.

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Remember them..

  1. Stephanie says:

    I remember the flannel figures too!! Thanks for a nice memory 🙂

  2. Bennette Lee says:

    I remember who taught me bible verses. I remember them until this day they were all from The King James version so that’s how repeat them. I was also went Girls Auxilluary. I remember Mrs Edgerton, as she taught me to read the bible daily. I am thankful for all those teachers!

  3. Katrina Payne says:

    Awww Mary Jane was my grandma and would be tickled pink to see this. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

