Get A Grip!

dreamstime_xs_36962795

The other morning as I spent a few quiet moments alone with the Lord, I came across a verse that made me laugh out loud. I love when I read something from scripture that speaks to my every day and this particular passage did just that.

I was reading Hebrews 12, which is a passage about how the Lord disciplines his children and while it’s not pleasant, but painful at the time, it is completely necessary and done because of love.

As a mother, I’ve come to understand the Lord’s discipline in a new way. I’ve begun to get a greater understanding of the Lord’s deep love for me and his children.  And because of his great love for us, he cannot allow us to just continue in disobedience to him. It’s funny how he’s given me four little people to demonstrate this kind of love to, often when I’m really tired. Years ago, as we began this journey, I memorized verse 11 and if you choose to do the same, I promise that it will bless you!

No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.

Good one, huh?

But that wasn’t the verse that made me laugh. It’s the one that comes next:

So take a new grip with your tired hands and strengthen your weak knees. 13 Mark out a straight path for your feet so that those who are weak and lame will not fall but become strong.

The writer told us to basically get a grip! As in, grab on to the Lord and all that he offers and get back to work.

The Lord was speaking to me that morning in a not-so-subtle way and I needed to hear it.

Some days as a Mom, I wonder if I can honestly discipline any one else?! With four little people going in so many directions, I feel like I’m always correcting or helping someone to do right. It’s exhausting! Then, because I’m oh-so-human, I get annoyed and overreact. Now, I’m the one who needs the discipline. Good grief! It’s a difficult cycle that I deal with every day.  So, as soon as I read these verses, I knew that it was me who needed to get a grip!

Today, I’ll take these tired hands that fold laundry, make meals and hug little children and I’ll strengthen my grip around the One who gave me these tasks.

He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. Isaiah 40:29

I’ll trust him to give me the patience and energy that today requires and I’ll probably ask him for more of it!

I can do all things through him who gives me strength. Philippians 4:13

I’ll intentionally mark out a course for my children that will lead them to grow strong in the Lord.

And we pray this in order that you may live a life worthy of the Lord and may please him in every way: bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of God, being strengthened with all power according to his glorious might so that you may have great endurance and patience, and joyfully giving thanks to the Father, who has qualified you to share in the inheritance of the saints in the kingdom of light.  Colossians 1:10-12

I don’t know about you, but getting a grip has never sounded better!

 

 

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Motherhood, Uncategorized, Women and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

