Christmas: Embrace the Moments

Merry Christmas friends!!

I hope you’ve enjoyed the weeks that preceded this much-anticipated holiday. We sure have at the Lehr home. We’ve made an ungodly amount of Christmas cookies and only feel good about this because we’ve shared a few with our friends. We’ve decorated almost every square inch of our house with poinsettias and lights, so there isn’t a room that doesn’t remind you of Christmas. My four girls and I painted a “Precious Moments” nativity scene, which looks nothing like the box said it would, but made for some festive memories. I still don’t know where baby Jesus has gone, but I’m pretty sure a little two-year old has something to do with that.

We’ve thoroughly enjoyed the Christmas season.

We’ve waited, anticipated, planned, wrapped and decorated. We’ve re-taught Jesus’ story to our children and shared the meaningful details about why we celebrate. We’ve looked at lights, tried to bless others, and sung Christmas songs. And now, it’s finally here. So, let’s all take a deep breath and enjoy it!

I can’t tell you how often I’ve thought, “It’s over, already?!” about something I was looking forward to. I think I feel that way when I don’t intentionally cherish those moments and memories in the making or maybe because life seems to be flying by at warp speed these days.

I love Luke’s account of the birth of Jesus in Luke 2, because it’s a good reminder to slow down and embrace the moment. Young Mary gives birth in a dirty stable to Immanuel (God with us). Angels appear gloriously in the sky to a lowly group of shepherds and they rush to the stable to see the things the angels spoke about. As they arrive, they find that it’s true! The Messiah they have been waiting for has come! I imagine there were tears and shouts of joy. And Mary’s response to it all:

“But Mary treasured up all these things, pondering them in her heart.” Luke 2:19

She cherished, contemplated, and valued those moments that Christ was born. She embraced their significance; and allowed herself to feel. And now, here we are, over 2,000 years later, with lives that have been changed by that revolutionary baby born in a manger. Still pondering..still amazed by the greatest gift of love…still wanting everyone to know that Jesus.

Don’t let Christmas rush past you. It’s here now.

Cherish time spent with your family. Celebrate Jesus, our most treasured gift. Embrace the moments.

20131222_161023

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Church, Motherhood, Women and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

