Be Blessed

Life as a Mama can be just plain hard at times. Of course I love my children, but my goodness, if I ever finish two bites before having to get up from a meal, I won’t know what to do! Oh look, someone fell out of their chair again (this happens at least twice a day around here). Someone else spilled their juice all over the clean tablecloth and is forever banned to a Sippy cup…”I know you’re twelve, but you just keep on spilling!” Kidding, of course. But can you relate?

Some days, I want to throw in the towel out of fatigue. Some days I want to go back to my job as a nurse, where I knew what was expected of me and I got paid to clean up after people. It’s often in those moments when the Lord shows me something about Himself and how very different we are. Usually when I feel this way, (ok, every time) it’s because I’m thinking about “me”. But, through His word, I see how I’m supposed to be living this life of Motherhood and I’m reintroduced to my dear friend, “Humility”.

Let me explain..

John 13 is the passage where Jesus washes the disciples feet. Most of us have read it dozens of times in our lives. But, there is something about being a mom that caught my eye this last time. Read on, and see if you catch what I’m talking about:

It was just before the Passover Festival. Jesus knew that the hour had come for him to leave this world and go to the Father. Having loved his own who were in the world, he loved them to the end.

The evening meal was in progress, and the devil had already prompted Judas, the son of Simon Iscariot, to betray Jesus. Jesus knew that the Father had put all things under his power, and that he had come from God and was returning to God; so he got up from the meal, took off his outer clothing, and wrapped a towel around his waist. After that, he poured water into a basin and began to wash his disciples’ feet, drying them with the towel that was wrapped around him.

So, Jesus got up from meals and served people too?!

And he is my example? And my attitude is to be the same as that of Christ Jesus, Philippians 2:5-8 tells me?!

See where I’m going with this?

He served. He served, even during meals-the hardest part of the day, when you just want to take a warm bite and have some adult conversation.

He served men who would sell him out and betray him and if you notice, no one ever washed his feet.

But, he washed stinky feet to show these men something. And thankfully, he tells us what that was or this would just seem weird.

When he had finished washing their feet, he put on his clothes and returned to his place. “Do you understand what I have done for you?” he asked them. 13 “You call me ‘Teacher’ and ‘Lord,’ and rightly so, for that is what I am. 14 Now that I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also should wash one another’s feet. 15 I have set you an example that you should do as I have done for you. 16 Very truly I tell you, no servant is greater than his master, nor is a messenger greater than the one who sent him. 17 Now that you know these things, you will be blessed if you do them.

“Wash one another’s feet.”

In other words, “serve” each other.

Serve in your home, during meals, when you’re tired, and when it’s the last thing you want to do. Serve your family, because God is using them to make you more like Himself. And because in serving them, you bring glory to your Heavenly Father.

Jesus’ final words: “Now that you know these things, you will be blessed if you do them.”

Serve and be blessed. I needed this reminder from scripture today. How about you?

 

 

 

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Homeschool, Motherhood, Uncategorized, Women and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Be Blessed

  1. Good reminder! Also, when they are acting insane, say thank you to the Lord that you even have them at all. There are some of us who would give anything for every single day of insane child behavior just to have the chance to be blessed with a child. I would thank God for every pain of pregnancy, every temper tantrum and disobedience just because it would mean that I had that child to do those things. Love you, sis!

  2. Tracy says:

    Yes, I needed this reminder today too!

  3. Sally Allen says:

    Shanna, Thank you for this reminder! Humility!! AHhh!! It is so easy to study God’s Word and so hard to apply it sometimes. Love you and your family!
    Sally

  4. Yes, it’s so hard, isn’t it??? Good reminder!!!

  5. Melissa Darlington says:

    Shanna I really needed to hear this too. Many times I feel the same way at the dinner table. In stead of thinking about serving I think about ME. And then I just get frustrated. I need to serve like Jesus and ME ME ME. I will rember this from now on when we sit down to eat dinner or anything we do. I will try very hard to not throw in the towel.
    Thanks. Shanna

Leave a Reply

