Life’s Intermission

dreamstime_xs_30475167

I wouldn’t say that waiting is one of my strong suits. I don’t even enjoy waiting on hold or standing in long lines. Guess, I’d better “get a grip” since Christmas season has begun!

As much as we all despise waiting, it’s very much a part of our lives, isn’t it? We wait to become adults, longing for all the “fun” and responsibility it will bring. We wait through classes and lectures to become a graduate, thirsting for satisfaction and accomplishment. We wait to find Mr. or Mrs. “Right”. We wait to hold a child close to our heart. We wait to move up in our jobs. We wait for our dreams to come true. We wait for our prayers to be answered. We wait.

It’s almost like we were created to wait. If want to get really technical, we’d remember that we are in the “church age” and we are in fact, “in between the times” of Christ’s first and second coming. So indeed, we are all waiting!!

But it is painful. Have you ever felt like you were forgotten as you waited? As in, God just didn’t realize that your heart’s desire is being ignored?

As I’ve been waiting on the Lord for some things, I’ve found myself receiving comfort through His word. There really isn’t any other place where the truth is spoken so clearly. Instead of presuming things on God, I can go directly to Him for guidance and comfort while I wait. I need Him to speak into my heart when waiting feels like a heavy weight that I don’t want to bear or when I’m getting mad at Him for making me wait. Let’s just be honest here.

I find myself deep into the pages of scripture, reading the stories of Daniel, who waited along side hungry lions and Joshua, who waited along side a river for a promise that was to come. I read about Paul, who waited imprisoned, Noah, who waited for rain, and Hannah, who waited for a child. I read about a blind man who waited his whole life to see and a crippled man who waited to walk.

Each story is unique and distinct and provided in scripture to teach us.  Like our lives, each one has meaning and purpose. Since waiting is a part of each of our lives and even clearly taught in scripture, will you then consider a few things with me?

1.     Waiting points you to the only One who can meet your need. Hannah’s desire (1 Samuel 1) to have a child could only be fulfilled by the Lord. In His timing and as His plan was fulfilled, her dream came true. Probably the most difficult part of waiting is digesting that God will use any means necessary to glorify Himself through you. We are vessels to be used for His glory. When I begin to grasp that idea, I can more easily surrender to the wait.

2.     Waiting gives you time to evaluate if what you are waiting for is worth pursuing. Have you ever asked yourself if this is your dream or something God has placed in your heart to pursue? We often think our life should unfold in a certain order or surge at a particular time. But, what if God has something else prepared for you? In the book of Ruth, Naomi felt bitter over her loss and like those who have suffered severe loss, she never asked for it. Through a beautiful story filled with loyalty, courage, and even loss, God brought His very own Son into the world through their family line. Their “change in dreams” held great purpose in bringing God glory and brought about an unexpected blessing.

3.     Waiting provides strength and courage when you surrender to the God who allows you wait. Isaiah 40:31 says, “But they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength. They shall mount up with wings like eagles. They shall run and not grow weary and they shall walk and not faint.”  Over time, as I’ve been waiting on the Lord, I’m beginning to gain some perspective that God provides while we wait. He actually renews us and strengthens us, as we trust in Him! It’s not to make you miserable, but rather has great purpose that we can’t always see. You will “soar” and even flourish when you trust God and make peace with waiting.

4.     Waiting doesn’t equal brokenness. I’ve often heard single friends say, “I’m ok with where I’m at in life, but other people around me aren’t.” How sad that someone else tells them that the place God has them isn’t good enough. We need to understand that times of waiting are shaping and molding and we desperately need them. Embrace this stage if this is where you are and know that like Ruth, who longed for the covering of a spouse, Hannah, who longed for a child, and Joseph, who wanted out of jail, God hears your cries. You are not broken or forgotten in the situation He has you in today.

We may never fully understand why we have to wait. Trust that God, in His intimate love for you includes this period of waiting to perform the good works that He has planned for you to do. You are not forgotten, broken or unloved. If you embrace this stage of waiting, you learn to rest more fully in the God who is allowing you to wait and to understand His presence in a new and fulfilling way!

 

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Life’s Intermission

  1. Tracy says:

    This spoke to me too and I will share with Elizabeth. Last week as we waited in pre-op for her eye procedure she told me how scared she was and how she had been praying so long and hard. She asked if God was ignoring her. I reassured her that He heard every prayer and it was literally minutes afterwards when the surgeon came in to examine her and cancelled the surgery!

  2. Man, with Madame Blueberry the other day, a message about joy yesterday, and this post on waiting today, I am definitely feeling convicted and learning. It’s easy to feel forgotten and not so hopeful when the rat-race isn’t enough to get us to where we feel like we should be by now and want to be so bad. And these times of waiting are some of Satan’s favorite times to knock us down even more. I keep reading Philippians 4:4-7. Pastor Benji just talked about that “peace of God…will guard your hearts and minds…” …the Greek using a military word/phrase basically meaning “corporal peace duty.” I thought that was really cool.

Leave a Reply

