Educational Food

This past week, our Geography in Classical Conversations covered 5 European cities: Paris, Orleans, Rome, Barcelona and London. I thought I’d help my girls to “experience” the culture of these cities like their Daddy and I do when we go to a new place..we eat our way through it!

I’ve always loved meeting the heart of a country through their food. Around the table is where families gather to talk, laugh and comfort. In the kitchen is where a grandmother is found making her legendary recipes and where she will eventually pass them along to her daughter and granddaughter. Amid prolonged meals and lengthy conversations friends become like family. Food really does help us meet the heart of a country. So on that note, here’s a little peek at how we attempted to meet some this week.

We had a Spanish Tapas party one night. We used a few things we had at our house and hit Party City for a few Spanish touches. I made lots of little dishes, some from the store, and some homemade. We had empanadas, avocado and ground turkey lettuce wraps, chips and salsa, lime shrimp on crostini’s, fruit from the “mercado” (market) and made warm churros for dessert. And then, we danced all over the house…salsa and a version of flamenco…ahem…my children’s version. We read a great book about Spain and Spanish culture and wore flowers in our hair. It was so memorable for them and a really fun way to learn about a new culture.

20131003_18092120131003_15264220131003_18483420131003_182005

Another night this week, we decided to “visit” London, England and Paris, France. I made homemade “Fish and Chips” and served it out of a paper bag as you might find in England. They loved the presentation. I picked Flounder, which is one of our favorite fish, because it’s light and not fishy in any way. I faked a terrible British accent while cooking and amused at least a couple of my children. For dessert, we ate mini eclairs that I picked up at the store and we pretended that we were eating pastry’s from Paris. We also read “A Walk in London” by Salvatore Rubbino. It is a beautifully illustrated book!

20131006_17131620131006_17124320131006_172129

The longer I home-school, the more I enjoy it. I’m finding that I get to use my own creativity and inject it into our day. I just happen to think that having some FUN as we learn goes a long way. We can all learn from each other, so what are some fun things you’ve done this year??

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Homeschool, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Educational Food

  1. Love it! So glad they are experiencing other cultures hands-on. 🙂 It has always been life-changing for me to experience other cultures. And who knows what it’ll spark in their hearts.

    My little lady isn’t school age yet, but that isn’t stopping us from having a ton of homeschool fun! I ignore the ages on curricula and use mostly preschool things. I know she won’t “get” all of it yet, but she is learning so much and is becoming smarter daily. I cut out the ABC’s out of cracker boxes and other cardboard pieces and we’re going through that. I also have several free homeschool programs online. Easy Peasy All-in-One Homeschool has programs for preschool-high school and it’s all free so quite a few days into that…she’s learning her ABC’s really well through it! We recently started CalvaryCurriculum.com and ABCJesuslovesme.com which have bible memory verses and coloring pages and other activities. And we’re doing Your Baby Can Read, but since my baby is a toddler now and wants to do what she has in her planner for the day, she doesn’t like to sit & watch it for very long. So I go with the flow. But she loves to learn, so we do other things. 🙂 This week, I hope to get to the library for their story time. 🙂

  2. Dave Lenhart says:

    Great stuff and even better teaching method!

Leave a Reply

