And the winner’s are….

Congratulations to Tonia Thane from Michigan and Donna Jenkins from North Carolina!! They each won a copy of Anne Graham Lotz’ new book Wounded by God’s People in our Anniversary give-away this week!

Thank you all for your great ideas and feedback! I appreciate each one of you who read this blog regularly. It’s of course much more fun to write when you know someone is reading and growing along with you. 😉

I thought I’d review Anne’s book, because it’s just such a timely and important one.

wounded_with_effects_1.jpg__128x0_q85_crop

When you hear the word “wounded” what comes to your mind?

I think of someone being not just hurt, but ravaged and unable to move on. Anne says, “who can claim a life without them?” Hagar, who was Abraham and Sarah’s servant lived a wounded life.

Wounded by God’s People is an in-depth look at Hagar’s life, hurts and eventual triumph. Anne beautifully describes parts of her life that I had never even considered. Hagar was an Egyptian woman who was a servant in Pharaoh’s palace. She supposes that Hagar’s life was perhaps never her own. Had she been born into slavery? We don’t really know. She was given to Abraham as a showering of gifts for his wife Sarah, whom Pharaoh believed to be Abraham’s sister. If you know the story, you know that when Pharaoh found out he had been lied to, he quickly sent Abraham and Sarah on their way.

Sarah was a wounded woman who desperately wanted children. Even though God had promised land, seed, and blessing to Abraham, Sarah decided not to wait on God’s timing. She asked her husband to take her servant Hagar to marry and have a child with; a child, that Sarah intended on raising as her own.

Anne points out that Hagar must have related her Master’s treatment to their God. So when Hagar was eventually ousted from Abraham’s house by Sarah, Hagar felt abandoned by God himself. Sarah had been wounded through her situation and her choices, but quickly became a “wounder”.

Anne says: “If you have been wounded by God’s people too…wounded by those with whom you had once felt safe and least expected to be wounders….wounded by those who you have loved, respected, and trusted…then you understand the pain is not something you can easily or quickly overcome. In fact, you and I can carry those wounds around with us until they begin to revolve in a cycle of pain, and we, in turn, become wounders ourselves.”

I couldn’t help but search myself for times I’ve become the wounder. It didn’t take long. I could quickly recall how fast I want to lash out at someone whom I feel threatened by and how I’ve responded with anger, rather than grace. Anne is very transparent in this book. She walks us through some church situations that they have been involved in with real grace, but utter honesty. Knowing Anne personally, I can attest to her laser-focus drive to make Jesus known. It’s her heart beat. It’s not only how she spends her time and energy, but her resources as well.

Angel Ministries, the ministry that Anne started, puts on large gatherings for women called “Just Give Me Jesus”. From large groups of women, to small gatherings like she’s held for the women at our church, Anne spends her time sharing with others how to get into God’s word. She longs for you to hear from Him yourself and to be changed by Him. She has shared with us before that she was a young mom too. Her days felt long and her house felt small. She wanted more of Jesus and began to intentionally get into the Word. It changed everything for her and now she wants to share Jesus with you and anyone else who will hear.

I believe her latest book will be transformational to you. One person said, “it’s like a healing salve”. I agree. I felt challenged, convicted, and encouraged through this book. Too many Christians have left the church and want nothing to do with God, because of their experience with one of God’s people. Anne will point you back to the God who hears and sees your broken heart. So read it and then pass it along to someone else who needs to hear that “it’s time to come home”.

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to And the winner’s are….

  1. Pam says:

    YES! It is a must read for every believer, and important for the unbeliever to see the difference between God and His people too. Thanks, Shan.

  2. Thank you! I am so excited!

  3. barbara foulkrod says:

    thanks for the great post and recommendation! Love your heart and Anne’s for our sweet Jesus!!! thanks for your faithfulness, Shan 🙂
    xoxoxox

  4. Donna says:

    Thank you so much! I was just getting to that place of, “What am I going to read next? Hmm…” and you have filled the void! Thank you, thank you!!

  5. Donna says:

    Reblogged this on life without peanut butter and commented:
    I won something from my friend Shanna! She asked what we’d like to see discussed on her blog and I basically said “How do Christians handle internet brawls in a Christian manner without going Gastonia on them (some of you will get this). It’s been on my mind a lot lately as I’ve gotten into confrontations and wanted to contain myself, control myself in a Christian manner and not let that ugly, worldly, hateful, snarky, smart-mouthed me come out. I slipped. Yes, the other night I slipped and let someone get the better of me for a bit, but I reigned it back in and let it go, not giving in to provocation. What point would that serve? I’m not here to scratch someone’s itch to make another person feel stupid. And vice versa.

    Anyway, I won! Thank you, Shanna!

  6. Dave Lenhart says:

    It is a fantastic read for all. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

