There is nothing there for you.

Since Monday morning, the internet and news have exploded with conversations about the Miley Cyrus and Alan Thicke performance. I read a few really good blogs about the subject, especially this one by a fellow Cedarville graduate.

What I’m left with towards the end of this week is not anger in my heart towards either of them or those that put them up to such a stunt, but rather concern for many Christians.

See, when we put performers like this in front of our children and ourselves as “influencers” in our lives, we are the ones to blame.

I wouldn’t expect anything less out of our entertainment industry. It seems every few months someone else tries something new and shocking to get your attention. But these people aren’t my role models. They are the “deceived”. 

 But you must remember, beloved, the predictions of the apostles of our Lord Jesus Christ. 18 They said to you, “In the last time there will be scoffers, following their own ungodly passions.” 19 It is these who cause divisions, worldly people, devoid of the Spirit. Jude 1:17-19

 Why would I let the ones who live in their own “bondage” and often fighting for it, might I add, have a place in my life? And why in the world would I accept this for my kids?

But you, beloved, building yourselves up in your most holy faith and praying in the Holy Spirit, 21 keep yourselves in the love of God, waiting for the mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ that leads to eternal life.  Jude 1:20-21

 So, I pray for those that desire so greatly to take my eyes off Jesus. I pray for their salvation, because this vapor of a life will be over soon and I believe an eternity with Jesus is worth living for.

 It’s heartbreaking to see them fighting for their own slavery and death, but I want no part of it. Some time ago, the Lord reminded me by a gentle whisper to my heart when I was faced with some choices about entertainment “there is nothing there for you”. So, I’ll heed His loving warning and cling to the One who doesn’t speak lies and deception, but rather life and truth!

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to There is nothing there for you.

  1. Pam says:

    Thank you for your godly attitude toward those who are not followers of Jesus.

  2. Carmen says:

    So true on this Shanna. I also agree with Michael Hidalgo’s take on the whole situation as well. Just praying over them.

  3. vweaver001@nc.rr.com says:

    I love this!!! Excellent read. I may have found this performance terrible and embarrassing but I may not have had an issue with other ones, and that is eye opening. How bad does bad have to be? There are many other entertainment shows that I enjoy that may speak the same message Miley did. I like the thought of a reminder, from God, that there is nothing there for you. We need those whispers.

    Sent from my iPhone VLO

    • shannalehr says:

      Hey V, absolutely. We sure do need those whispers. It’s good to ask if this pleases the Lord instead of just assuming it’s ok. Thanks for reading, friend.

Leave a Reply

