Our “European” Adventure

I love Europe! When I graduated from High School, the Christian school I attended took us on a 15 day trip to Europe. It was amazing!! And that’s where my love affair began. My husband and I have visited a few more times and our love for these places has just grown. Now, as my children’s teacher, I get to share my love for these countries that hold such beautiful memories in my heart.

I was delighted to see that this year in Classical Conversations (our home school group) we’ll be studying Medieval Europe and all those who made history: Joan of Arc, Marie Antoinette, Napoleon. Naturally, I would love to take my kids to visit the real thing, but that wasn’t feasible this year. So, we improvised!

Not far from our house is a small “European village”. It has a slew of delicious restaurants and even a “piazza” to enjoy the summer breeze. I thought I would share a sampling of the fun we had today. Whether you home school or not, finding a place like this in your town makes for a creative and fun experience for your kids and just might ignite a passion to travel and explore history for themselves. C’est parti!

Well, first, we needed “passports”. It started out as a summer movie pass and with a little glue, Voila! It became a passport.

20130824_164854When we arrived, our first stop was Paris, France to see the beautiful Eiffel Tower. My girls were just giggling at this point.

20130827_112017After arriving, I stamped their “passports”, which they just thought was funny. (Of course I also pretended to be a tour guide and the border patrol.) I made tiny flags for each country and as we “arrived”, we would stop and put them on with a glue stick (not super creative, but it worked). She’s so proud of her French flag.

20130827_114411As we grew hungry, we stopped for strawberry and whipped cream crepes at theΒ  adorable “Simply Crepes”. Tres bien!!

20130827_115521After filling our bellies we thought we’d stroll into the “piazza” and enjoy some reading about Paris and a little coloring of paper dolls from some of the countries we’ll be studying this year. I found print-outs on Education.com.

20130827_124059After a while, we had worked up an appetite for gelato, so we took our European adventure to Italy. What a beautiful country!

20130827_132946So fun that my husband was able to join us today!!

Then, we strolled around the shops and enjoyed the lovely landscape.

20130827_134341As we strolled, we talked about the Mona Lisa and how she was stolen and “Bastille Day” and it’s importance in French history. I pointed out the window boxes (that I’m going to have my husband put on the front of our house), just like I experienced in a quaint “walled city” called Rothenburg, Germany that I visited on my very first trip to Europe.

20130827_112300Here they are with their completed passports. We had so much fun! My hope for today, was that as we start this year, my girls would be interested in studying all the people and events that make European history all that it is. So many lives were lost and so many battles fought for the freedom, which these countries know today.

20130827_134711

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Our “European” Adventure

  1. So fun! I need to find out where this place is! I love the field trip to Europe…it makes learning so much more fun when it’s hands-on! πŸ™‚ Tell E, I just picked up my new glasses today! πŸ™‚

  2. That is awesome!!! I absolutely love this idea! πŸ™‚ I can see you being the tour guide too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

