Monday’s Life Change: A New Perspective

Welcome back to “Monday’s Life Change“. I have loved hearing from so many of you, whose hearts have been changed because of obedience and surrender to the Lord. Once you’ve experienced genuine life change, you can’t help but talk about and share it with others.

Today, I want to introduce you to my friend Tracy Weeks. Tracy and I have gone to church together for several years and today, I’ve invited her to share her story with you.

When I was almost 17, my best friend “Melanie” of the same age became unexpectedly pregnant.  She felt very alone and I wanted to help her, but didn’t know how.  For a few weeks, the only ones who knew about this were the two of us and our boyfriends.  Her boyfriend quickly left the picture. My boyfriend stepped right in to ‘take charge’, so to speak.  His plans involved driving her across the border to his hometown of Montreal where parental consent for abortions was not required.  His suggestion hurt me. However not for the reasons it should have. 

I was more concerned with my own hurt feelings and jealousy in the attention he was giving Melanie, than I was with being a supportive friend to her.  Eventually Melanie confided in her mother, but the outcome was still the same (an abortion).  Her parents were divorced and I don’t think her father ever knew she was pregnant.  Within two months, Melanie ended our friendship and my boyfriend broke up with me.  It seemed that everything had changed as a result of that difficult choice and it was a hard crash into the real world for all of us.

Fast-forward about 6 years and I found myself in a new set of circumstances.  I had just accepted Christ as my Savior and had been baptized six months prior – still very young in my spiritual journey and was in the beginnings of a new relationship with a boy I worked with.  One evening I was alone in my apartment and I thought to myself, very much out of the blue, I wonder if “John” has ever fathered a child.  The thought was not, ‘has he ever gotten someone pregnant,’ but, ‘has he fathered a child’.  I stopped for a moment and questioned where in the world that idea came from!  With a sinking feeling in my stomach, I picked up the phone and called him to ask the question. 

He confirmed what I had somehow guessed – his 15-year-old girlfriend had faced an unplanned pregnancy.  Only the outcome to their story was completely different.  John and his friends were rallying for her to get an abortion, but their families were faithful believers.  Her parents pulled her out of her regular school and she spent the remainder of her pregnancy in seclusion until she gave birth to a healthy boy who was adopted by a Christian family. 

For whatever reason, learning this news about my boyfriend’s past sent me down the same jealousy-roller-coaster from high school all over again. I was a mess.  I felt threatened by the bond he shared with her, and fill-in-the-blank insecurities.  You see, it was all about me.  The following Sunday I went to church.  My parents were out of town.  I sat a little closer to the front than I normally did. This particular Sunday our church had visitors.  A youth group came in and several of them spoke before the congregation sharing their stories.  The first young man to speak was so happy and joyful – I wanted some of what he had!  He shared with us that he, like all of the other young people visiting with us that day, were adopted – the result of unplanned pregnancies. But God had placed them in adoptive homes where they heard about Jesus and their lives were forever changed. 

I cannot describe in words how convicted I felt that day.  I felt like God was shining a spotlight down on me – opening a direct line of communication headed straight towards my heart as I sat there frozen in awe.  I was reminded how precious life is – how this is His plan, not ours. How ridiculous I had been in making this about me.  I couldn’t help but think about the little boy that John had fathered and how his life must be now, and what a blessing he must have been to his adoptive parents.  And just seeing in sheer volume of how many young people were there with us that day, which may not have been the case if their existence had ended in abortion, and how all of this brought glory to God.  God really changed my heart and opened my eyes that day, giving me a new perspective.

IMG_0860

 

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

