The richest woman in the world

It’s been quite a week of sick children around our house! For three consecutive nights this past week, after being tucked into their beds, one of my girls woke up with a terribly sick stomach and the mounds of laundry that accompany it. One of my girls also has Asthma, so along with a sick stomach, she struggled with a tight chest and a terrible cough all week-long. Oh, and she fell off a scooter head-first and is now sporting an egg-shaped bruise. “Where was your helmet that you were told to put on??!!” And by the way, I sure wish I felt like riding a scooter when I’m sick!

On Saturday morning, our oldest daughter informed us that just before we left for dinner the night before, she had jumped out of a tree in our backyard (this isn’t all that uncommon) and apparently, landed hard and now couldn’t move her arm! What??!! How did I miss this between fixing dinner, trying to get dressed to go out with the 2-year-old whining on my leg and the babysitter arriving?!  I.have.no.idea. I had lots of guilt questions about why we hadn’t heard about this sooner, but the story goes that it didn’t hurt much the night before, and so she didn’t complain. By morning, (after sleeping on it), she was hurting and unable to move it.

So, off we went to “Urgent Care”. No break and only a splint-later, we were home. Praise the Lord! I joked, but only sort-of, “ok, don’t anyone move!” Yea, that wasn’t going to happen.

Sunday morning came and I knew we needed to just stay home and rest. We love our church, so there were some sad girls and definitely a sad Mom, but we needed to listen to this crazy week and truly rest. We stayed in our pj’s, ate warm oatmeal and watched one of their favorite shows.

Before long, my oldest came into my room and said, “Mom, can you cuddle with me in your bed? My arm is hurting a little and that would feel good.”

How would I ever say no!? We cuddled and I kissed her head. We had about 2 glorious minutes together, then another sister came in and joined us under the covers. A minute later, two more little sisters came in. Thankfully, we have a King-sized bed!!

And there we were, five girls in a row. They rehearsed all their ailments from the week and so I began to play “nurse” to each of them, handing out their morning medications gummy vitamins and pretending to do a morning assessment. I had to laugh at all the preparation God has given me for this job of being a Mommy to little girls. I used to nurse patients with heart issues, now I tend to four delicate hearts that need lots of love, attention and guidance. I wish I could bottle up these precious moments with them; they are truly priceless! As I lay in bed with my girls, I couldn’t help but think, “I just might be the richest woman in the world!”

20130818_093024

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The richest woman in the world

  1. Oh geez. I remember those nights. Grew up in a big family, and once we went 3 months where SOMEONE threw up during the night. Great post though. 🙂

  2. Beautiful, beautiful girls! Mine are older, but my younger daughter went over to her older sisters’ apartment, across the road tonight, and she cooked chicken stir-fry for us, and we had apple pie and coffee. Then I left and took the younger one to Walmart to buy stuff for her dorm room. She leaves for college on the 31st, and I will miss her so much. I wish I could bundle them both back into my bed and watch movies, and stay home; yes, I even miss the sick days, and all the laundry!! It goes too fast. Enjoy your girls, but I’d have to say WE are the richest women in the world!

  3. Dave Lenhart says:

    Yes you are! Enjoy these moments because they will fly by so fast.

Leave a Reply

