Tell me to come

Do you long for your life to have purpose and impact? I sure do!

Recently, I was reading a passage of scripture that I’ve read many times before, but a few words jumped off the page and hit me in the face.. well, not really. That would be strange. But, they grabbed my attention and for a couple of weeks now, they’ve frequently come to mind.

One night, after the miraculous feeding of the 5,000, Jesus went away by himself to pray. Before he left, he sent his disciples off in a boat so that he could send the multitudes of people home. As the night went on, the disciples got into trouble with rough winds and waves. Jesus heard them screaming and came to them walking on water. (Matthew 14)

When Peter saw Jesus, he said, “Lord, if it’s really you, tell me to come to you by walking on water.”

Jesus told him to come. Peter climbed out of the boat and began walking on water to Jesus! But, when his focus left Jesus and landed on the roaring waves that splashed against him, he began to sink. Jesus saved him and then said to him, “You don’t have much faith. Why did you doubt me?”

 I see myself in Peter, but not for the reason you might think. What jumped off the page to me was not that he doubted and began to sink, but that he said to Jesus “tell me to come”.

It seems that Peter desires a deeper purpose in life and wanted to be a part of Jesus’ mission. He actually asked Jesus to call him out of the boat-the only place that may have felt safe and out of the very thing that previously supported his livelihood. He wanted Jesus to call him onto the rough waters. He wanted Jesus to ask him to do something out of the ordinary.

I feel like Peter glimpses my heart in this exchange. I believe he wanted Jesus to show himself in a very “personal to Peter” kind of way. Ask me to do the impossible! Show me what you can do through me.

Oh Peter, I want the same things!

Years ago my husband and I stood in our church in Dallas, Texas on the brink of God’s call to go start a church. We heard a pastor say, “Dream big dreams. Pray big prayers.” We smiled at each other, the way that couples smile when someone says something you’ve just been talking about. He spoke what our hearts had been saying, “Ask me! Ask us!”

I still feel that way today. In fact, even more so than I did 9 years ago when I stood in those pews. I’ve seen the Lord do miracles, I’ve seen him heal and I’ve seen him build his church. So yes, Lord, tell me to come! May I have faith to keep my eyes on you the next time I step out of the boat!

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tell me to come

  1. Scott Lehr says:

    I love this one. Thank you for sharing Shan.

  2. Liz says:

    Thank you for sharing — I am 64 and about to become ordained because I had asked God years ago to use me — and surprise, surprise, He is and has and will. More of us need to ask God to call us out of our boats and then when He does, we need to get out and begin walking with our focus totally on Him.

    God bless your ministry and family… May you always ‘walk on water’.

Leave a Reply

