I’ve fought a lion and a bear.

A few months ago, I went to hear Beth Moore speak to a group over 8,000 women in Greensboro, North Carolina. The arena was filled with praise music and brightly dressed women. We laughed, we cried, and we were challenged by God’s Word. It was glorious!

I think the part that most impacted me over that weekend however, was when she began talking about what happens in the secret of our hearts and in our homes. She talked about how she desires to hear from the Lord and how the Enemy (Satan) so often tries to thwart those plans and get her focus off the Lord.

Then, she told this story:

When King David was just a shepherd boy keeping watch over a field full of sheep, he often fought lions and bears off in order to keep the sheep safe. On that fateful day that he walked into the “Israel vs Philistine” battleground to check on his brothers, he realized that not one Israelite was brave enough to fight Goliath, the giant from Gath. He decided that it would be up to him. He trusted the Lord and would fight this battle in His name. So, he stood before the king and announced that He would fight Goliath. But, his brothers who were a part of this army were also standing there. What did they think? Were they wondering if he was crazy? Did they doubt if he had ever actually seen a lion or a bear or if these were just tall tales from an audacious shepherd-boy? David knew what it had been like in those quiet moments all-alone in a field. He knew what it was like to fight off a fierce enemy and he knew that God had helped him fight a lion and a bear. So he moved forward boldly to his next competitor.

Beth Moore looked at all of us and said, “Ladies, I know what it’s like to fight a lion and a bear in the secret places. Do you know what I mean? I know…what it’s like…to fight a lion and a bear.”

I began to weep. As in, I honestly couldn’t hold my emotion together. Those words pierced my soul and then just hung there. I excused myself to the ladies’ restroom and tried to get some of the mascara off my red face before walking back into the arena.

Since the day we told the Lord that we would start a church and go anywhere He asked us to go, we have fought battle after battle in Jesus’ name. Sometimes, these “battles” would side swipe us and we’d walk dazed for a bit until we could get our bearings. Sometimes, they were laughable and the very situation made us look to the Lord immediately, because we could see that something significant was happening to get our attention. Other times, there was deep pain and it was very personal. God has been faithful through it all and we love Him more and feel like we trust His character more now, than ever before. So I wouldn’t trade it, but that’s why I wept in that arena. She spoke of something so personal to me and for a moment, it was like a friend reached across the table, grabbed my hand and said, “I know. I get it. I experience it to.” God used her that weekend to encourage my heart in a way that I didn’t even realize I needed.

As I shared this experience with my community group from church in the weeks after we got home, I became even more convinced that we must share these types of experiences with one another: our struggles, our fears, our battles. As Christians, we’ve been commanded to “bear one another’s burdens”, but how can we do that if we don’t know what they are? Perhaps you’ll be the friend that reaches across the table, or perhaps you’ll be on the receiving end, like I was. Either way, it’s rich and I believe God delights in seeing His people care for one another.

Can I pray for you today? Just leave me a comment, like “pray for me”. It will be an absolute honor to carry your needs before the throne of grace today!

 

 

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’ve fought a lion and a bear.

  1. Audrey Wrenn says:

    Shana,
    What a beautiful story. I am so glad you shared the story of your heart. God is so faithful to take us where He knows we need to be; ever so lovingly and gently. It’s interesting that I was lead to 2 Corinthians 1:3-7 this morning which I’ve read many times but this time my focus zeroed in on verse 5 that explains that we share in the sufferings of our Lord. Wow, what affirmation that our life with the Lord will not be easy but always full of His comfort.

    I believe that sharing the depths of our heart, the good and bad, painful and joyful, the carnal and spiritual is where believers get power to overcome anything they may face in this life. It is the testimony of the saints coupled with the power of His redeeming love for us that ushers us into the realm of His healing presence.

    Thank you for sharing what Jesus did for you as He met you in that place of your heart. It blessed me tremendously.

    Audie

    2Corinthians 1:3-7
    Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, 4 who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God. 5 For just as we share abundantly in the sufferings of Christ, so also our comfort abounds through Christ. 6 If we are distressed, it is for your comfort and salvation; if we are comforted, it is for your comfort, which produces in you patient endurance of the same sufferings we suffer. 7 And our hope for you is firm, because we know that just as you share in our sufferings, so also you share in our comfort.

    • shannalehr says:

      Audrey, thank you so much for this. I love those scriptures too! How neat that God led you there this morning and had already written this in my heart weeks ago to release today. Love how He works. Thank you for reading. So very glad it encouraged your heart today!

  2. denise says:

    Oh how i remember Beth’s repeating of our Lord’s words. Pierced me too – in that good, wow-that-hurt-a-whole-whole-lot kind of way. I am thankful for your post and for sharing this. I am thankful for your friendship and for the times you’ve “gotten it” when i needed to know that someone else did.

Leave a Reply

