Happy Father’s Day…and some Ribs!!

Happy Father’s Day!!

I’m so thankful for my own Dad, who showed me what a godly man looks like. My memories of him during childhood include that he was gentle and gave the lightest spankings ever. My sisters and I used to giggle sometimes after getting in trouble. ๐Ÿ˜‰ He was kind and always a little quirky. He used to yell “Good-morning world!!” at the top of his lungs out the window in the mornings. He was tough and jumped out of airplanes in the Army and a hard worker like nothing I’ve ever seen since. He’s always been an amazing lover of my Mom and our family. I love to watch him now with my own girls. He is one of my life’s greatest blessings. His example led me to marry a man who always treats me like a lady and leads our family and our church with great strength. I am truly blessed by these precious men.

Since my husband is the Lead Pastor of our church, he often takes the opportunity to brag about my cooking. While I know there are many others who can cook far better than me, he seems to love what I do and shares this frequently. But let’s face it, Scott Lehr is no fool. He knows I’ll keep the good food comin’ with all that accountability.

So, because he shared with our church today about the ribs I was making him for lunch and I had approximately 25 “what time is lunch?” or “you’ve got to give us the recipe” requests today, I’m going to post it here. Treat your men right and make these ribs for them. This recipe-or at least the first version of it-like all good recipes are, was passed onto me by sweet Donna Tovey. I’ve probably changed it a little over the years, but it always comes out finger-lickin’ and fallin’ off the bone! So, enjoy!!

1. Buy some good Smithfield pork ribs. I always buy mine when our grocery story has a buy one get one free sale. Not all ribs are created equal, so be sure that there is some thick meat on those bones!!

2. Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Cut ribs down the middle and place in a 9×13 inch oven-safe dish with the meat side up. Rub a generous amount of bacon grease on both sides. (I keep a container in the fridge and put the grease in it every time I’m cooking up bacon for something else.)

3. Cover ribs with foil and place meat side up in the oven. Cook low and slow for the next 3-4 hours. Flip ribs part way through if you’re able. I put mine in this morning before leaving for church and they looked like this when we got home.

20130616_122749

4. After 3-4 hours they’ll be literally falling off the bone, so be careful in handling them to put on the grill.

5. The sauce is the BOSS! Be sure to use your favorite BBQ sauce to slather all over the meat side of the ribs. We like “Sweet Baby Ray’s”. Place onto the grill (400 degrees or so) and cook on each side for just about 3-4 minutes-long enough to get a few grill marks.

6. Take off the grill and enjoy! Put more sauce on if you like. They might look something like this… 20130616_130625

If you don’t get a big kiss after these, then give your man a little pinch, because he needs to wake up!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

If you like potato skins, you might try these too! We call this “Game day food” and will make them a lot when football season comes in the Fall. We can make exceptions for Father’s Day and make them in June.

20130616_1304321. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Wash and dry Russet potatoes.

2. Put a small slice on top and bottom of potato to let steam out while cooking. Rub a small amount of Vegetable oil on the outside and place them in the oven for about 75 minutes. (Shorter time for a smaller potato) I did mine the day before and just put them in the fridge overnight. This makes handling them much easier.

3. Slice cooled potatoes in half length-wise. Keep about 1/4 of an inch of potato into the skin and remove the rest with a spoon. Brush Vegetable or Canola oil onto the skin and inside the skin of each potato. Place onto an oven-safe cookie sheet. Sprinkle insides of the potato skin with salt and pepper. Bake for 20 minutes (in a 400 degree oven) or until skins are crispy.

4. Remove from oven and sprinkle inside of potato skin with a generous amount of cheddar cheese and of course, bacon!!! Place back into the oven for 5-8 minutes until everything is melted and really hot.

5. Garnish with scallions, red onions, sour cream or whatever you like.

Happy Father’s day guys!!

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

