Monday’s Life Change: Nameless

I decided to start a short series on my blog called, Monday’s Life Change. Mondays can be boring and are often greeted with fatigue. If you’re like me, you’re starting the week with great expectation, but too often, boredom, fatigue, and/or busyness wiggles its way in and you lose sight of your focus by about 2 pm on Monday afternoon. I’m hoping to encourage your heart during this series with stories of life change that you’ll think about and maybe even wrestle with all week-long. So here we go!

Today’s story is heavy, so I’ll just encourage you to proceed with caution.

There is a baby girl in Asia with dark hair and dark eyes. She was born to a woman who was “trafficked”, a child of one of the many men she was forced to service. She doesn’t know him and perhaps will never see him again. This baby, while fragile and in great need of love has found herself trapped in the horrid bonds of slavery…since birth.

She is often mistreated and found with bruises on her face and arms. She wants to smile and be a child, but is being “groomed” by the traffickers to live a life of slavery and service. She is not touched, except in ways that cause her harm. She is the age of my youngest little girl.

She doesn’t have a name, because well, that would make her feel human. And, like many trafficked girls, she will eventually receive a number. This fact alone has done me in and caused buckets of tears to fall from my eyes. My favorite t-shirt says, “She has a name”. It’s simple, but the message is clear. God’s Word says that as His children, we are called by His name (Isaiah 43:1).

I found out about her when my youngest baby was about 6 months old. My heart sank to hear of this little girl, who like others, are being used to fulfill the supply and demand problem which plagues every country in the world. If only people weren’t “buying”, but they are, so the industry grows.

She isn’t being rocked to sleep at night with her mother gazing into her eyes. She isn’t getting little outfits picked out for her and bows in her hair. No one hugs her or holds her when she cries. She lives a life literally chained to walls and often sits alone at the back of a building where the garbage is dumped and rats peruse through the piles.

Human trafficking changed my life about 4 ½ years ago when I unknowingly and abruptly became aware of this growing issue. My heart broke and I’ve cried more prayerful tears for these women and children than I have for anything else in my life. I couldn’t look the other way; I could no longer be naïve or unaware. I am very aware and I am broken because of it.

But, let me tell you what God’s people have done, because it will never make the news and it will never make headlines. What God’s people do is often done quietly and behind the scenes and that’s ok, because it’s for His glory, not theirs. But what they do, when led by God himself is powerful and effective.

Over time, some Christian women began a relationship with this brothel of young women, which is how they found this little baby girl. Burdened, they began a Bible study to share the love of Jesus with these women. They gave this baby girl a name. It’s simple and very sweet. They love on her when they can and grieved as you can imagine, they pray for her. They asked to adopt her and have gotten papers to sign for her release. It hasn’t happened yet, but they keep going back and they keep praying for her freedom.

At night, when I tuck in my sweet girls, I quietly pray for her too, this little girl around the world from me. Often, a tear burns my cheek, as I pray that God’s angels would surround her and sing over her as she sleeps. I praise the Lord for these women, whose example has been the perfect picture of loving “the least of these”.

I wish I could wrap this story up with a pretty bow and tell you that it’s all over, but it’s not. It’s still going on day after day. So will you join me in praying for her? Will you stop what you’re doing right now and ask our Heavenly Father for her release? I know He is able. I beg Him so!

Whatever you do, please don’t forget her.  I pray today, that you’ll let her little dark features burn into your heart and you will pray for this precious little one. Even though some details have been left out for her safety, God knows exactly which little girl we’re talking about and I believe He has given her a name.

Isaiah 43:1-3

But now, O Jacob, listen to the Lord who created you.
    O Israel, the one who formed you says,
“Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you.
    I have called you by name; you are mine.
When you go through deep waters,
    I will be with you.
When you go through rivers of difficulty,
    you will not drown.
When you walk through the fire of oppression,
    you will not be burned up;
    the flames will not consume you.
For I am the Lord, your God,
    the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.

“She has a name” t shirts can be purchased from this site: http://www.shehasaname.com/

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Monday’s Life Change: Nameless

  1. Erin says:

    Wow Shanna, that is so heavy. Especially as I sit here wih my little ones. Thanks for sharing, as this is something that definitely needs more attention. In my prayers…..

  2. Gabriel Trance ( Gabe) says:

    Hi Shanna,
    My name is Gabriel and my wife’s name is Angela and we both attend Soutbridge at Brier Creek in Raleigh. We feel so blessed to be a part of a church that is truly Holy Spirit lead and has a heart’s desire to connect people to Jesus for life change. I prayed for this liitle girl after reading your blog and also for the other women and children trapped in this awful life. I was also convicted to pray for those involved who run these sinful places because God’s grace extends to them also. My prayer is that the saving gospel of our Lord is heard by all involved and that they all answer the call to know God the Father, Son and Holy Spirit on a personal level and have a true change of heart. Blessings, Gabriel

    • shannalehr says:

      Hi Gabriel, thank you for stopping by my blog. So glad to hear that you and your wife are enjoying Southbridge and growing here. Thank you for praying for all of those involved with this story. You’re absolutely right that the captors need prayer and Jesus!! Thanks for praying in that way. Blessings!!

  3. Carla says:

    Hi Shanna,
    Thank you so much for your thoughts and prayers on behalf of this little one and the others like her! Our country also has a severe problem with human trafficking; wouldn’t think so huh? Prayers can move mountains because our Lord can do anything!

    Think I’ll buy a t-shirt…..I have a feeling it will become my favorite also.

Leave a Reply

