The Little Seed

I wrote this story for my children several months ago. I’ve read it to them dozens of times and they just love it, but then again they love me. I thought I’d share it on my blog, because while it’s fun for kids, it also has meaning for adults. It seems we find deep inner strength when we are tested and endure adversity. It’s the love of God’s Son that gives me hope and a reason to press on when it just feels hard. I hope you’ll be encouraged by my story, The Little Seed.

The Little Seed

By: Shanna Lehr

There once was a little seed planted in a garden. She couldn’t wait to become something so beautiful!

Day after day, the sun would beat down, but under the ground it was hot and since Little Seed couldn’t see the sun, she soon began to complain. “It sure is dry down here. My days seem long and tiring and.. oh, if I could just see the sun, then, I could really grow into something beautiful.”

One day, the rain began to fall. At first, Little Seed didn’t seem to mind much, but as the rain continued, she began to question what was happening to her. “I thought I was put down here to do something; to become someone. It’s getting awfully messy down here and I’m wondering if I’m going to get washed away by all this rain. I feel so small.”

As the days continued on, Little Seed decided that the rain must be doing some good, because she could feel things changing. She was growing a few roots that began to inch their way into the deep dark soil.  And while she hadn’t turned into anything magnificent yet, she could feel herself changing. She continued to grow and even began to see glimpses of the sun. She felt its warmth and somehow knew that they were made for each other. 

One night, there was a terrible storm. The rain fell fast and Little Seed didn’t know what to do. She took a few gulps of rain and began to worry, “Am I going to make it out of this storm?” The rain continued to fall that night and through the next several nights. Little Seed was almost washed away, but she held on.

A few of her small new buds were torn and tattered, but underneath the ground something amazing was happening. Her roots began to hold even more tightly than before. She wasn’t easily shaken and her head began to stand a little taller.

After weeks of cloudy and rainy days, Little Seed woke to a welcome visitor. It was the sun shining down on her! Oh how she had missed the sun! On so many dark and rainy nights she had longed for the warm embrace that she was receiving at that very moment. Suddenly, she realized that she had changed. There was strength about her that she had never felt before. She looked down into the dirt and recognized that her roots went deep into it, allowing her a steadiness unlike anything she had experienced before the rain came. Her petals were filled with such brilliant colors that she stood out from every other flower in the garden. She realized that both rain and sun were necessary for her growth and without them she would still be just a little seed without much to offer anyone.  Instead, she wore a fragrance unrivaled by anything else in the garden and showcased a centerpiece of seeds that allowed her to leave a legacy for years to come.

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Little Seed

  1. April says:

    Beautiful!~

  2. Scott Lehr says:

    I love the Little Seed story. You are a gifted writer. Thank you for sharing it with our family and now with others. We often times wish the rain wasn’t necessary for our growth.

  3. Danielle (Parker) Chaney says:

    Good story! You should get it illustrated and published!

  4. crazymom1386 says:

    That’s a great story!

  5. Carol fraser says:

    I like your Little Seed Story. I want to read it to my grandchildren.

  6. Kathleen says:

    Shanna, I am such a place to receive, what I think is muddy and hot (trial) ….is really a spot that God allowed to grow me.. You are a gifted writer…. Thank you!!!!

Leave a Reply

