Lessons from a deck of cards

300px-Moscow_July_2011-4a

I love to travel! Or should I say that I have loved to travel. We have four kiddos now and “traveling” looks like a trip to the beach wearing lots of sunscreen and building sand castles with them. It’s glorious of course, but it’s different than the landmarks we used to travel to where we’d take picture after picture of stunning detail.

Because of my love for travel and desire to instill the big wide-world into my children, it’s a real privilege that I get to home-school them. The other day we were looking at famous landmarks on a deck of educational cards. I asked my two oldest girls to look through their deck and pick two places that they’d like to learn about today. Amidst the cards was the Golden Gate bridge, which I’d love to get to and the leaning tower of Pisa, which I have been to and have the leaning picture to prove it.

As we flipped, we found the White House, the Hoover Dam, Stonehenge and the Kuwait City Towers. One of my daughters has been fascinated with Egypt’s pyramids at Giza since the beginning of our school year when our Classical Conversations group studied them, so we stopped on this one for a bit. She’s planning a trip for some years from now and honestly, I hope we really get to see them.

One card held my attention as we flipped through the deck. It was Saint Basil’s Cathedral in Moscow’s Red Square. What beautiful colors! What interesting architecture! My girls were not nearly as fascinated as me until I began to tell them a story about this place.

Me: “You know, our friend Titus is from Russia.”

Girls: “Oh yea!! He is!”

Me: “Did you know that this beautiful place is part of his story of getting to the United States to live?”

Girls: “Yes.”

Me: “Isn’t it neat to think that he came all that way from Russia to live here in the States with the Toveys?”

They both agreed it was neat and then my oldest daughter began to tell us about how wonderful it was that he was adopted by Christians.  Then in all kinds of excitement: “Because they will tell him about Jesus and maybe he’ll become a Christian some day!”

And that, my friends is a beautiful picture of something more stunning than any landmark and more fascinating than the details of when any monument was built. It’s the gospel and even my little seven and five-year old “get it”.

Bringing Titus into an already full and bustling home gives this little man the chance to hear about the Jesus who loved him and knew him before he was even formed in his birth mother’s womb. Graciously, through medical needs that our friends, the Tovey family felt compelled to meet, God saw fit to connect them and make Titus part of their forever family. How awesome! The part I am still stunned by is that the hearing loss that he had and is what matched them together in the first place is literally GONE now that he is here. That’s how they were able to get him home so quickly and it’s G-O-N-E. How’s that for POWER??!!

It’s obvious to me that the Enemy hates adoption. He fights it, closes doors and discourages many.  But, even in those sad discouraging ones, God is working all the while-even when we can’t see it and don’t understand. God, on the other hand, loves adoption, which is why the scriptures are full of references to orphans and why even our salvation is referred to as “adoption” by our Heavenly Father.

Sometimes my heart just gets really full from the little lessons in life.

*Photo from Wikepedia: Saint Basil’s Cathedral

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

