Remember when…

“It is right to refresh your memory as long as I live in this tent of a body.”

Peter’s words grabbed me. I love to reminisce. Some of my favorite moments are sitting with my husband reminiscing over our memories together: like when we fell in love, took trips together, or began having our children. I love to talk about what those little pink girls looked like and felt like the first time I held them in my arms. Refreshing your memory is good for the soul.

But in this passage, Peter is refreshing the memories of believers (who were scattered around Asia Minor) about something else; something more significant than even our fondest memories of love and children. He’s recalling when they first came to know the Lord. While those early days were good and you can read about them in Acts, the years had changed their acceptance. These believers in Jesus had been persecuted and many had moved from their original homes to flee a fatal death. And yet even with this knowledge and his own experiences of beatings and persecution, Peter reminds them of the truth:

..God’s power has given us everything we need to live a godly life..

..He has given us his great and precious promises…

…Add to your faith goodness, knowledge, self-control, perseverance, godliness, mutual affection, and love…

…and when you possess all these qualities in increasing measure they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in your knowledge of Christ…

…if you don’t possess these things, you’ll become nearsighted and forget what you’ve been cleansed from…

Peter knows, because he’s been forgiven much. (To whom much is given, much is required) Remember his story of grace?

One of the roles of a pastor is to teach the truth of God to believers and that’s exactly what we find Peter doing. And just as a side note, when you are going through a crisis, do your friends point you to the truth of God’s word or to their own rationalized thinking? I’m very careful whom I take advice from. If someone is not willing to point me to the truth of God, then their advice doesn’t carry much weight. There are a lot of lies out there and many of them have been twisted with just a little truth, so be careful and seek godly counsel.

Peter goes on to say, “It is right to refresh your memory as long as I live in this tent of a body.”  He is aware that he won’t be alive forever, but that the truth will be carried on by these believers. In fact, thanks to him we’re reminded of these truths today!

So, may I refresh your mind?

When did you come to know the Lord? Were you a child or an adult?

Was it a struggle to give up control? Maybe it still is?

Do you know him as the Savior that he really is-holy, all-knowing, just, sinless, loving?

Can you see the change that has occurred in your life because of God’s transforming work?

I’d love to hear from you today. If you know the Lord and have called on him for salvation, would you leave a sentence or two about when or how? Encourage me and other believers by sharing your good news!!

I’ll go first: I was a little girl, but I can still clearly recall the night that God called me to himself. I couldn’t go to sleep! That night, my faithful Mom led me to Jesus. Every night, as my sisters and I would go to bed, she would pray with us and read Bible stories and we’d talk. That night, I waited anxiously in my bed for her to come in. I’ve grown a lot since then, but that was the night my new life in Christ began.

Will you remember with me today?

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Remember when…

  1. Kelly says:

    I was 22 I read a book my boyfriend now husband gave me. I was living a life looking for love from other men but not finding love just more empty inside. I read the book Divine Revelation of Hell. The book scared me. I was reading about people in hell who were just like me. I thought that I was a good person. But I quickly learned it was about being a sinner which we all are. After I read the book I accepted Christ I never cried so much in my life. I felt reborn, new, refreshed, I felt clean and most of all fulfilled for the first time ever! I never wanted to go back to my old life, and I have loved Jesus ever since. Finding what true love is from Jesus Christ my Lord and Savior!!!

    • shannalehr says:

      Kelly, thank you so much for sharing! I’m so thankful for your boyfriend who would love you enough to share Jesus with you. Looks like Josh has been blessed greatly for it! 😉

  2. denise says:

    Spent most of my childhood praying the Lord’s prayer, going to church (on my own even) from high school on – tried reading the Bible but it never made any sense to me. But my life never had any peace and my love of God had nothing to do with my life other than the one hour I spent in church on most Sundays. God used a series of heartaches to bring me to the end of my rope when I was 25. I saw people in my extended family living a life of peace and purpose. They shared with me that what I lacked was a real, personal relationship with Jesus. I wanted a new life badly and immediately. The fact that an eternity in Heaven with Jesus was also available made my decision to follow Jesus Christ all the sweeter. My eyes were opened and the gift of His Word was incredible – I could now read the Bible and it not only made sense, it changed me to the core. My life not only changed that day in November years ago, but I am continually changing and the Lord is at work in my life. I do praise God for the blessing of my home church – a solid, Bible-preaching church…Southbridge, of course!) and how I have grown more than I could have imagined. The Christian life is far from boring – it is always changing, always being challenged and full of blessings beyond my wildest imagination.

    • shannalehr says:

      Thanks Denise! So glad you continue to grow. I love that I’ve gotten to see that in your life. I love you dearly and thank the Lord for you often! Praise the Lord for your family who lived out Christianity in such a way that would make you want it.

  3. Vanessa says:

    Shanna, I was saved in 1982, 31 years ago! I am 40 now. I am pretty sure it was 82. I will have to find my first Bible, it has my name on it, and when I was saved. It was in my pastors office, in Cheyenne WY. My baptism came shortly after. I feel like I have given control, I pray that I do, but I am sure the fear in me, has not really allowed that to happen. There are times when I tell God, its all His and he can do as he pleases. I then find myself, doing as I please. I am thankful to have a great Church that does not lie to me, and I can see past the “crap” that others will tell you, such as “it was meant to be, you deserve this, everything happens for a reason”. God happens and its His reason and His timing. I can always know this even when I don’t get my way. Its thanks to my dad, who came back to NC and became saved. He then came home to Wyoming and led our family to Christ. I don’t think I really saw the Lord working in me, until after 36 or so. I was going to Church and continue to do what I want, in my time. I still sometimes do. I just know more truth now and my eyes are more open to what my purpose is here. I know God has taken care of me and provided His grace, I just don’t know what he has planned in the coming years. I am convicted a bit more these days, I am still scared because I cant fathom or imagine heaven, I can only figure out what I need to do next here on Earth and what I need to take care of. Its hard to think about eternity…..

  4. Scott Lehr says:

    I remember being a Senior in high school and being asked the question: “If God were to ask you why He should let you into heaven, what would you say?” I replied by saying, “No one can know the answer to that question.” The gracious gentleman who asked me that question (Mike Thomas) then told me about Jesus Christ’s life, death and resurrection to save sinners (Luke 19:10; Romans 6:23). He died to save me. A few days later I was in my room reading a small booklet that he had given me. After reading that booklet one evening I got down on my knees next to my bed and prayed to ask Jesus to be my Lord and Savior.

  5. Kimberly Pruitt says:

    I was in the 4th grade and walked the proverbial aisle after my heart raised a million beats a minute as the congregation sang the “invitation hymn.” I told the pastor, who was a good family friend of ours, that I had invited Jesus into my heart and that I wanted to tell other people about what I had done. He had me repeat a prayer after him and then when the hymn stopped, he introduced me as a new follower of Christ. So many people came up to the front of the church to “greet” and “congratulate me!” As a 4th grader, it was so sweet and real to me. I knew that my life was now different and I loved having other people know this about me. I had to have a few different women give me tissues as I cried as a young girl as men and women came by and hugged my neck welcoming me into my new family of God.

  6. Jodie Waller says:

    I was a young child like you Shanna. I grew up in a Christian home, and was blessed to always hear about Jesus. I truly cannot remember a time I did not know about Him. Really, accepting Jesus into my heart is one of the earliest memories that I can still remember now. I have a few faded ones about learning to tie my shoe, or falling into an ant pile…but my first real memory is of crawling up onto my mom’s bed and asking her to help me pray to ask Jesus into my heart. I can’t really remember much about what led up to it, or what happened after – but I can remember so clearly that feeling of excitement, peace, and love that washed over me. That same feeling I get everyday when I am truly refreshing my mind like Paul says!

    • shannalehr says:

      Jodie, thanks so much for sharing. Makes me so thankful for our parents who put the truth in front of us. Praise the Lord for getting to know Jesus at a young age!!

Leave a Reply

