Today is the day!

Last week I invited you to join us for One Meal. One Day. 2013 and several of you have. I understand that there are so many opportunities to reach out and care for needs, so this one may not be for you. But, maybe it is! And maybe for a moment in the busy life you lead, you’ll stop and consider a few things:

  • Statistics tell us that today, 18,000 children will die of starvation. Today…and every day around the world. Let that sink in for a moment before you move on.
  • Jesus said “You will always have the poor among you” (Matthew 26:11). This is not an excuse to ignore the problem. If Christians will not care about the needy around them, who will? I know that I cannot “fix” every problem or feed every hungry tummy, but I will certainly pray and ask God to supernaturally fill stomachs and I pray that almost daily with my family. We believe in a BIG God! We also look for opportunities to share and give. This is outside of everything that culture tells us. Even well-meaning people tell us to SAVE IT ALL, but when I look at scripture, I see continual exhortation to the religious to stop being greedy, to seek justice and to give to those in need. Many of us need a change in perspective.
  • “The one who has two shirts must share with someone who has none, and the one who has food, must do the same” (John the Baptist in Luke 3:11). I don’t know about you, but I have more than two shirts in my closet. On occasion, I’ve picked up the attitude that someone is “exempt” to help because they don’t have nearly as much as someone else. But, it’s obvious even throughout scripture that we will not all have the same amount…Abraham came from great wealth, so did Job, Esther was a queen, the disciples left their livelihoods and Paul had just about no earthly possessions. God used each of these people greatly and continues to use their stories to teach us some of the greatest lessons in scripture. Some were God-appointed Kings, others were ordinary poor people. Some will need help, some need to give help. In America, many of us are considered “rich”, but if you focus on what someone else has and you feel it’s what you deserve, you’ll pick up the attitude that you are exempt from helping. It’s a joy to give!! It is a privilege, even in the smallest of ways! Look for opportunities! They are everywhere!

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Today is the day!

  1. Scott Lehr says:

    Great blog.

Leave a Reply

