The gift of you

This afternoon, I overheard my two oldest daughters having a conversation. They are seven and five. The younger one stated, “Ya know life is short, but some days it just feels so long.” To which, my oldest replied in complete randomness, “Yea. I wonder if God knows when we die, because there are so many people on the earth to keep track of.”

I was at the top of our stairs when I overheard their deep life thoughts. I chuckled a bit to myself and waited for them to come up the stairs. I love these moments as a Mom when you get to be a “fly on the wall” and help them gain a better understanding of life and also the God that we so dearly love. When my oldest reached the top of the stairs, I said with a smile on my face, “So, I wonder if God knows when we die, because there are so many people on the earth to keep track of?” She smiled and replied with a long and exaggerated, “Mom”.

After sharing a few things with my girls, I couldn’t help but share here too, because while these thoughts are simple, they are revolutionary. And as much as I want my girls to know the personal and intimate love of God, I long for you to know it too! Sometimes, we just need someone else to shower us with words of love. So please hear this and receive it.

Psalm 139 is one of my favorite Psalms and that’s saying a lot, since the majority of them are written by King David; my all time favorite Bible character. I spent a summer studying him a few years ago and since that time, I’ve simply loved reading anything about him or written by him. He was sinful, like us and yet God calls him, “a man after my own heart”.  In this Psalm, he “gushes” his love for the Lord, because of the way the Lord loves him. (We love, because He first loved us) Sound familiar??

It’s sweet and an absolute must-read and must-share scripture.

You have searched me, Lord,
    and you know me.
You know when I sit and when I rise;
    you perceive my thoughts from afar.
You discern my going out and my lying down;
    you are familiar with all my ways.
Before a word is on my tongue
    you, Lord, know it completely.

You know me. You know when I sit and rise. Before a word is on my tongue, you, Lord, know it completely! That causes me to pause and consider his love for my life.

Probably the most famous verses of this Psalm and what you’ll see on baby dedications are these:

13 For you created my inmost being;
    you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
    your works are wonderful,
    I know that full well.

Do you hear David “gushing”? It’s obvious that he felt the love and presence of the Lord. David knew his life was planned by his Creator.

But here is the verse that I shared with my daughter:

16 Your eyes saw my unformed body;
    all the days ordained for me were written in your book
    before one of them came to be.

So, sweet girl, to answer your question: He absolutely knows when you die, because He planned your days before you were ever born. Before he “knit” you together one cell at a time in Mommy’s tummy, he had planned your life. He planned that you would be in this family, who your siblings would be, who your friends would be, and what you’ll be like when you’re a big girl. He knows it all. None of your life will be a surprise to Him.

I also shared that since scripture tells us that God even cares about little sparrows, how much more does He care about you, who are made in His image? Luke 12 tells us that He knows the hairs on our heads! I truly believe these details are meant for people who need to know if God cares, if He hears, and if He sees-them. And the truth is, He does! He loves you! He has sovereignly ordered your days. And while you may have watched an older lady “knit” a scarf, you’ve never seen the care with which God “knit” you together. Your personality, your eye color, your abilities and when you’d live were all part of His great plan for you! Sometimes, when part of us isn’t the way we wanted it to be, we begin to question Him. But, apparently, this “mistake” was part of the intimate & glorious plan He had for your life, while He knit you together in your mother’s womb. After pondering these scriptures, try to see how He looks at you.

Now, live each day to know your Creator more, and in such a way, that you would bring others to Him by the very gift of your life!

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The gift of you

  1. Dave Lenhart says:

    Thank you for the reminder that God knows and loves so sweetly.

  2. Dana Sherwood says:

    What a beautiful reminder of how special we each are in His eyes!

  3. Elizabeth~Elle says:

    Shanna,

    You may not remember me, but you spoke truth and wisdom in my life when I was walking in a very deep, dark, time in my life, I want to thank you. The encouragement that you gave me, helped me to fight to live…Please keep it coming, I sometimes feel like I have done so much wrong that there is no way that God could still love me….

    Elle

    • shannalehr says:

      Elle, I definitely remember you. Thanks for reading and saying hello. One of the things I’m so amazed with about God is that our thoughts just aren’t His. He has forgiveness to offer that doesn’t run out. And His love for us isn’t conditional like ours so often is. He longs for your heart to be surrendered to Him, because that is where true joy will be found. Keep seeking Him, friend!

Leave a Reply

