Listen up!

I did something different this morning. While getting ready, putting my make-up on and my contacts in, I “listened” to a reading of the passage of scripture I’m currently in.  And surprisingly, I loved it!

Normally, while doing this monotonous activity of getting ready in the morning, I’m thinking about my eye-shadow, my outfit, or the days activities as I stare into the mirror. How fun today, to have the Bible read to me like a little kid before bed! On early mornings, that have you running out of the house before your morning coffee gets cold, you might have to get creative to spend some time with the Lord, but you’ll be glad you did.

Thanks to Margaret Feinberg, and her creative ideas for celebrating Lent, this idea of listening to scripture came to mind this morning. On her blog, you’ll find that she and some others are reading through the Bible during the 40 days of Lent. The ENTIRE Bible in 40 days!   margaretfeinberg.com  What a fantastic idea!!

Scripture focuses my attention on who God is and His purposes for my life and existence.  Colossians 3:2 says, “Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.” As I listened to another passage of scripture this morning my thoughts were on Jesus and his disciples and the miracles that he performed while on earth. Focusing on the power of Jesus and the healing that took place when he simply spoke it to being was a great way to start the day!

Colossians 3 goes on to talk about the types of things Christians should engage in as well as the type of character a Christ-follower should yearn for. It’s like a beautiful love letter to those that love Jesus and desire to walk with him.  Read it for yourself here, or listen instead! Just don’t miss out on all that God has for you from His Word. It’s too rich to miss!

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Listen up!

  1. Dave Lenhart says:

    Thank you Hon for the encouraging words. Love it when you write.

  2. Shanna, I love Colossians 3! Such a beautiful book! Thanks for the shout out!

Leave a Reply

