Just stay…

 “As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love.” John 15:9

Jesus spoke these words while teaching his disciples about who he was and who they are. He was laying out their position (and ours) earlier in this chapter in the famous “vine and branches” passage.

The words Jesus spoke here are simple, but life changing. He says, “As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you.” God the Father loved His Son Jesus. His birth was prophesied for years and years before he came and this is seen all throughout the Old Testament. He was “the coming Messiah”, the “King of Kings”, the “Holy One of Israel”. He was to be worshipped by every being on this earth. Generations awaited his arrival. God said of him “this is my Beloved Son in whom I am well pleased.” We don’t doubt God’s great love for his Son, Jesus.

Now, Jesus is telling the disciples- or insert your name here– in that way, the way God loved Jesus, Jesus loves his disciples. That’s a lot of love for each of us. It’s personal and powerful!

Jesus also tells them to remain in his love, or other translations use the word “abide”, which simply means to dwell or reside. “Don’t leave. Don’t move away from my love. Sit in it. Feel it. Accept it. Stay.”

On this Valentine’s Day, I want you to not just feel God’s love for you, but also receive it. It’s strong and powerful. He knew you would enter this world and planned this special time for you to live in it. He knows your name and He calls you His “Beloved”.

Take a moment today to ponder those words and the weight of them! How does this change the way you see yourself and others today? Feel free to leave me a comment. I’d love to hear from you.

On Valentine’s morning, I like to make a special breakfast for our family. On special occasions like this, there will be small gifts and special plates and napkins. My children are small, so this is thrilling to them. These are a few of the photos of their place cards. Each of them received a name that God calls His children in scripture. I want them to grow up knowing that they are valued and dearly loved children of God!

1mail.google.com

2mail.google.com

3mail.google.com

4mail.google.com

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just stay…

  1. Hi Shanna, I followed your link from the One7 blog my son has just started. I adore your blog, and the WP theme. You have a gorgeous family. I’ve been almost too busy to blog, but just retired from digital design, so now will be able to keep my blog up-to-date, or at least that’s the plan. I’m looking for other Christian women to blog with. This post is wonderful, and I adore the place cards and the use of your children’s God-given names. That’s such a beautiful tradition. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed my first visit, and reading your About page as well. Happy Valentine’s Day to you and yours. . .

    • shannalehr says:

      Thanks so much for stopping by! I hope to see you back. Many blessings to you as you continue to blog and find time in this new season of life. Happy Valentine’s Day!

  2. Bennette Lee says:

    Having seen your life in action, I honestly don’t know how you write this beautiful blog plus do this for your family. They are so blessed!

Leave a Reply

