The Dark Side

????????????????????????????????????????

Several years ago, I knew God was calling us to become involved in the fight against human trafficking after a date night with my husband, where we watched the Liam Neeson film, “Taken“. That evening, we went to the movie first and dinner second. We sat at dinner almost stunned. “This goes on all over the world? Even in the United States? These are real people; real women and young girls!” We were sick to our stomachs and called to action. I’ve never been to a movie that has changed my life so drastically.

That night at the movies began a path for us and even our church, of awareness and involvement. Through the course of talking with several agencies and doing a lot of homework, we fell in love with Women At Risk, International (WAR) out of Grand Rapids, Michigan, who we now support in some creative ways. We’ve done a number of things from host jewelry parties that share the mission of WAR and sell jewelry made by rescued women, to helping send Egyptian women to purity camp. For over a year now, when someone visits our church and fills out our “connection card”, we send $10 to WAR to support a safe house around the world. They are doing amazing work and we are thrilled to be just a little part of it. Neat thing is, we have LOTS of visitors each week at Southbridge. I believe the Lord has blessed them and us through this joint ministry.

Today, is somewhat of a “dark day” in the world of trafficking-not that any day has a bright spot in it while your body is being “sold” and objectified. Later today, while many of us will enjoy chips and dip and friends and parties, where we will laugh at some really great commercials, there will be thousands of women in Louisiana who have been flown and driven in from around the world to “fulfill the need” of many buying customers. They will be forced to be with 25 or 50 men today. Don’t believe me? Read what one former victim has to say. http://www.nola.com/crime/index.ssf/2013/02/former_sex_trafficking_victim.html

Does this turn your stomach? I hope so, but more than anything, I hope it moves you to pray. I believe God desires for us to cry out to him on behalf of others and I believe that he answers prayers. I believe he loves these dear ones who have been tricked, lied to, or even coerced into thinking this is the only thing they can do.

Dear Lord, we beg you to bend down your ear from heaven, today. We ask you to rescue many women who feel there is no other way and that there is no way out. We ask you to use bars of soap in a bathroom, caring individuals who notice that something just isn’t right, or even a customer himself who is simply grieved at his actions and is forced to stop and turn to you. We beg you on behalf of these women for rescue and healing. In Jesus’ powerful name, Amen!

Join me in praying today, friends. May God bend His ear from heaven at the “noise” we make in pleading on their behalf. 

Because he bends down to listen, I will pray as long as I have breath! Psalm 116:2

20 Then the LORD said, The outcry against Sodom and Gomorrah is so great and their sin so grievous that I will go down and see if what they have done is as bad as the outcry that has reached me. If not, I will know.  Genesis 18:20-21

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Dark Side

  1. Debby West says:

    Shana, just went through a scare with Willow about this. Thanks for posting.

  2. Dave Lenhart says:

    I grieve with you. Prayers are being said and heard. Love you!

  3. Tricia Deary says:

    Wow, I had no idea this sort of thing went on here in the US. This sickens me that what should be a fun day/game for everyone has such an ugly side. I love football, as you know, and have played in pools for a couple of years now, and have done better than I would have expected. The earnings I have made over the last 2 years, I want to donate to WAR on behalf of the church. I will continue to do so every year I win any earnings. Along with prayer, it is a small way I feel I can make a difference. Thank you for enlightening me with the truth.

Leave a Reply

