She speaks…

I’ve found if I memorize scripture, the Lord uses it to pop up at some pretty inconvenient times. If I memorize something about patience, I get all sorts of opportunities to “practice” my new verse, usually with a toddler who has a much different definition of speed than I do. The verse will remind me to go more slowly, give her a minute, and to rest in the job God has called me to do that day, rather than trying to rush through it.

This week, I’m memorizing Proverbs 31:26. It’s a gem for all of us ladies. Whether you are single, married or have children, this one is for you! It comes to us from the great Proverbs 31, a chapter in the Bible that makes most women cringe and disregard with great fervor because they don’t sew or spin flax . Well, neither do I, but I have a lot to learn. So here’s a thought: Instead of throwing out this great book because you don’t “fit the mold”, why not ask the Lord what He would like to show you through it? Where might He want to stretch you this week?

Here’s the verse:

Proverbs 31:26

When she speaks, her words are wise,
    and she gives instructions with kindness.

Now read it again and let it soak in.

When I read words like this, I take them as a great challenge. The truth is, I speak before I should, all too often and I’ve “instructed” in haste too many times to count. I fail at this directive regularly, so I’ve decided to arm myself with the sword of the spirit, which is the word of God.

If I hold onto the truth of God’s Word and consider that this can be a reality for my life when I’m surrendered to Him, I don’t stay in a place of defeat. It’s recognizing that God is doing a work IN me, continuously that helps me to be gracious with myself and others when we make mistakes and then, to move forward in victory.

This morning, I shared the meaning of this verse with my two oldest daughters. I reminded them of recent times when I didn’t speak kindly or spoke too quickly and shared how this verse has helped me to refocus. Then, we talked about ways that they can practically use this verse with their sisters or friends. Later, I’ll have them write it out as penmanship practice, but knowing all the while that verses we meditate on begin to penetrate our hearts and eventually may change the way we live. That’s the work of the Holy Spirit in our lives and it’s convicting and necessary. So, this verse is hanging in a prominent place in my kitchen right now. I needed a reminder this week. Want to join me?

When she speaks, her words are wise and she gives instruction with kindness. Proverbs 31:26

May you flourish in all you do today!

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to She speaks…

  1. Thanks for this reminder, Shan! I memorized this verse a while ago in ESV which says “She opens her mouth with wisdom, and the teaching of kindness is on her tongue.” But with 4 kids at home, I need to be reminded…

  2. Bennette Lee says:

    OUCH! Great verse to remember. Thanks, Shanna.

Leave a Reply

