Christmas morning breakfast

I’ve never posted about food on my blog before, but as you get to know me, you’ll learn quickly that good food is one of my love languages. Bringing food to your house when you are ill or just had a baby is one of the ways I enjoy loving on my friends. I’ve also been on the receiving end so many times and it speaks more love than you know!

With Christmas literally days away, I thought I would share a couple of recipes that we love as a family and will plan to enjoy this week.

On Christmas morning, we like to sit down for a nice warm breakfast after the Christmas story has been read and presents have been opened, but I don’t want to slave away in the kitchen that morning. With lots of little ones, I don’t have time for that, nor do I want to take time away from the fun that is to be had with our new treasures. So, I plan ahead. Here are two recipes that I hope you’ll enjoy as much as we do. If not for Christmas, try these carmel-pecan cinnamon rolls some other time. They are worthy of your recipe file! This is not my recipe, just a great one that I found a couple of years ago.

http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Caramel-Pecan-Cinnamon-Rolls

This next recipe is one of those recipes that has evolved over time in our house. It’s a true, no fuss, throw-it-all-in kind of recipe. You probably have one of these, but this one is good! I’m not a precise measurement kind of girl, which is probably why baking hasn’t always been a favorite of mine. I like to call it “using my artistic side” while cooking. A dash of this and a pinch of that is my kind of meal! I’ve made it heartier when I wasn’t watching my weight and was nursing a baby and I’ve revamped it a bit for times like now, when I’m being a little more careful about what I eat. However you choose to alter this recipe, it just always seems to come out tasting great. So enjoy and have fun using your own artistic side!!

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Spray an 8×8 inch glass dish (or whatever you have that’s closest to this) with non-stick spray or coat with butter if you don’t like chemical sprays.

In a large bowl mix:

  • 8-10 eggs (depending on the size of your family)
  • 1/2 cup either half & half or heavy whipping cream *this can be substituted for milk if you like a lighter version
  • 1 cup milk (use whatever you have in your fridge, but 2% is probably ideal)
  • 1 tsp ground mustard (don’t try to skip this-it adds tons of flavor)
  • 3/4 cup cooked ground sausage or 6-8 strips of cooked crumbled bacon
  • 1 cup cheddar cheese
  • optional: 3 cut up green onions, chopped red onions, chopped red pepper (add whatever you like for veggies)

Place into greased glass dish and place it into the oven for 40-45 minutes until golden brown and eggs are set. Then sprinkle another 1/2-3/4 cup of cheddar cheese on top once it comes out of the oven. Serve warm and enjoy!

*You could also work with pepper jack cheese to make a nice spicy version, just know that younger kids aren’t usually as fond of the spice. This can also be made easily without meat and tastes delicious!!

A few steps the day before and these are ready to be simply placed into the oven on Christmas morning. Your family will enjoy a nice warm breakfast and you’ll be able to enjoy all of them.

Merry Christmas!!

197996_10151287064232332_1022329662_n

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas morning breakfast

  1. donna says:

    Shanna, I’m so dumb I started reading your recipe and I got to the mustard and my brain paused…then saw sausage and thought “This is the weirdest recipe for cinnamon rolls I have ever seen…” HA! I will be so glad to be off these brain addling meds for shingles! I think we’ll try the REAL cinnamon roll recipe minus the nuts so we don’t spend the morning in the ER. 😀

    Thank you for sharing your recipes and I hope you have a blessed and yummy Christmas morning!

    • shannalehr says:

      Haha! Wouldn’t that be quite the combination?! Donna, (sung to the tune of Moriah Carey) all I want for Christmas is for you to get feeling better. It’s been such a sick season for you! 😉

Leave a Reply

