A thankful Christmas

It sure has been a busy December. If you’re anything like me you’ve done your best to avoid wading through the busy aisles of people in search of “just the right” gift.  Or maybe you’ve stayed home more and focused on the people in your life a little more intentionally.

At our house, we’ve been busy baking Christmas cookies, hosting parties with dear friends and listening to the same 30 songs on the radio. I’ve hugged my kids more and spent time reading special stories with them as we’ve made some sweet memories.

This week, we’ll take part in our church’s Christmas Eve service, family gatherings, and we’ll eat more than our share of delicious food. You’ll probably do the same. But, as we are met by another Christmas season, there is one idea that keeps crossing my mind: Be thankful.

I haven’t lost track of which holiday it is, don’t worry. I’m just choosing to focus on something different.

I’m thankful for the gift of life, the gift of family, and the gift of freedom. I’m thankful for beautiful Christmas lights and hot chocolate, which accompanies them so perfectly! I’m thankful for silly songs that we sing that cause me to ask lots of questions and laugh a lot…(It’s a Marshmallow World?? What?!) I’m thankful for the smell of our first “real tree”. I’m thankful for my husband and the tradition we have of taking our children on a special Christmas date each year. I’m thankful that we have friends and family and an amazing church to share this beloved season with.

But, this Christmas, I’m mostly thankful for Jesus. He has changed the whole direction of my life. It’s because of God’s plan to bring His son into the earth as a small baby, that gives my life real hope. His main purpose in coming was to later die on a cross to pay for the sins of the world…even the unspeakable. He would be ridiculed and murdered by the masses, so that you and I and many others before and behind us could have a relationship with a perfectly Holy God.

It’s recognizing who God is and who I am in relationship to Him, that brings me to my knees in thankfulness.

One final note, thank you, as well! Thanks for joining me each week. I have thoroughly enjoyed these past several months and hope that you’ll come visit my blog again in the New Year. Many blessings to each of you as you enjoy family and friends this Christmas!

Isaiah 9:6

For unto us a Child is born,
Unto us a Son is given;
And the government will be upon His shoulder.
And His name will be called
Wonderful, Counselor, Mighty God,
Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

