My new mantra

Imagine with me for a moment that you just received some “troubling” news. It wasn’t news you were expecting to hear and now life is about to drastically change. What would your first response be?

  1. Cry
  2. Withdraw
  3. Say, “May it be to me as you have said.”

 

Did any of you pick “3”? I know, me either.  I usually cry. But, this is how Mary, the mother of Jesus, responded when she was greeted by an angel and informed that she would bear the son of God. Luke 1

“I am your servant. May it be to me as you have said.”

I’ve often read the second part of this statement and have contemplated it several times in my adult life. But, the first part struck me in a new way this week as my husband preached on Sunday. “I am your servant”, she said. She was just delivered some very troubling news- “The Holy Spirit will come upon you, and the power of the Most High will overshadow you; therefore the child to be born will be called holy—the Son of God.”

Mary was pledged to be married to a young man, whom she may have hoped to have children with. I wonder if they had already dreamed together about what life would be like when they got married, what they would name their first child and where they would live.  And yet her response to this angelic delivery was, “I am your servant.” In other words, “I have no rights. I don’t get to decide my future. I will do as I’m told.” That’s the life of a servant and it comes at great cost, yet Mary boldly claimed it for the sake of God’s calling on her life.

Sometimes, I don’t even want to do the laundry in my home or pick up after my little people and my husband could tell you how much I hate to iron. But aren’t I God’s servant as well?

Mary would be looked down on by many in her own town, because she was going to bear a son at a less than optimal time. It would appear that she had done wrong and yet actually, she was just being obedient to God’s call on her life. Have you ever felt misunderstood for obeying God? Mary’s response seems to show a confidence in Him, which she would certainly need as she faced accusers and even her own family’s questions.

“May it be to me as you have said.”

In times of God’s prompting, I’ve responded with these words…but, I’ve also fought them. Sometimes, I so badly want what I feel is “owed” to me. It’s so ugly and I hate when I act with entitlement, but nonetheless, I do it at times. But, then I’m reminded of Mary’s sweet spirit and servant-hearted response. Her example helps me to refocus when I want what I want. She knew God’s ways were best and that He cared about little ol’ her. Mary was from Nazareth, a town people looked unfavorably on and said “nothing good comes from” and yet God was going to use her to bring our Savior into the world! He knew her heart and chose to use her willing spirit.

I don’t want to miss out on opportunities because I lack obedience or faith in what God might want to do through me. I don’t want to miss out on discipling my children and showing them how a servant-hearted woman responds to cleaning her home, making meals and handling God’s word. I want God to use me to open my mouth or unleash my fingers to write-His message-to any who will listen. So, my new mantra: “I am your servant. May it be to me as you have said.”

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

