Get your praise on!

One of my favorite Bible characters is King David, who wrote the Psalms. I think I just love the simplicity of who he was and who he became, because of God’s grace. A simple shepherd boy who killed bears and lions in order to protect sheep, ended up killing a giant who was taunting the army of Israel and then later became the King of God’s chosen people. While also being a confident warrior, his heart in my opinion is his best quality. It is spilled out in his writings and we are the recipients of his beautiful outcry.  His heart was surrendered and set on God. He praised like no one I’ve ever seen, but his example has changed the way I view God and the way I talk about him. I understand that David did wrong as well, which probably just makes me like him all the more. It was sad to see how some choices with a woman took him down. This is common in our culture as well. But today, I want to focus on one Psalm that has run through my mind all morning. It’s truth should stop you in your tracks and cause you to ask yourself, “how do I live differently in light of this truth?”

Psalm 8

Lord, our Lord,
    how majestic is your name in all the earth!

*David praised the Lord often and recognized that He is not like us, but grand and great. He’s also the Creator of this world, whose name is known throughout the earth. Because of this, we don’t approach the Lord without respectfully acknowledging WHO He is.

You have set your glory
    in the heavens.

*In other words, as David looked out over the creation, he recognized that God was seen in all of it. As a family, we try to mention this often. I point out the beauty and artistry of the Lord as we go about life. We talk about the trees changing and how beautiful they are and how creative it is that they change multiple times a year. God didn’t have to do that, but He did. Or how about places you’ve visited? Isn’t it amazing that there are palm trees flourishing in one part of the world while it’s snowing in another?! The moon and stars speak of His glory, so does the fact that we don’t burn up by the sun! His glory is seen everywhere. Notice it and follow David’s example of praising God for it.

Through the praise of children and infants
    you have established a stronghold against your enemies,
    to silence the foe and the avenger.

*Even the smallest of children speak of God’s great name. I have found this to be true as I look into the eyes of my children and see the majesty of God creatively molded into each one. It’s often difficult for adults to recognize the glory of God when they are so clouded by the views of the world, but children have not yet become jaded and cynical or filled with questions that they are often, only trying to impress others with asking. They see the world with much more purity and therefore have a faith that many adults could only wish to have.

When I consider your heavens,
    the work of your fingers,
the moon and the stars,
    which you have set in place,
what is mankind that you are mindful of them,
    human beings that you care for them?

*Oh, what is man that you are mindful of him? It’s so true! This verse really gets me. We are God’s plan, created to bring Him glory. He loves us, sent His Son to die for us, and so often we are such jerks! If we would just revel in who God is, it would change the way we live. The fact is, He cares about all the intimate details of our lives and has a plan for us. He desires relationship with us and longs for our little lives to shout of His greatness. I have to ask, “how does my life share the glory of the Lord?”

You have made them[d] a little lower than the angels[e]
    and crowned them[f] with glory and honor.
You made them rulers over the works of your hands;
    you put everything under their[g] feet:
all flocks and herds,
    and the animals of the wild,
the birds in the sky,
    and the fish in the sea,
    all that swim the paths of the seas.

*He’s given us this world and  we have a responsibility to rule over it. He made a hierarchy. Humans are lower than the angels, but have been made to rule over the things God made such as animals, birds and the fish in the sea. We were made uniquely for a purpose.

Lord, our Lord,
    how majestic is your name in all the earth!

*Focus on His name and on His glory and who He is today. I would imagine it will make you look at life differently as you recognize that your situation, your family, your job, and your role are all to bring God glory.

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Get your praise on!

  1. david lenhart says:

    A good reminder of our great God and how He should be viewed daily. Thank you and keep on writing.

Leave a Reply

