Small Stuff: Day 1

I thought I would focus my blog posts this week on an important topic in the Bible, which can easily be missed-the small stuff.  While I have seen God do some really miraculous things in my life and will post more on those another time, I thought we could focus this week on what is so often learned through the small stuff.

In the Bible, there are numerous examples of small things that had great impact. Take a look at Jochebed’s life from Exodus 2. Jochebed was the mother of Moses. She was a Hebrew woman who lived in Egypt years after Joseph’s family came there to survive the great famine in Canaan. Years and years had gone by. The Israelites had multiplied, but Joseph had died and the new Pharoah didn’t remember who he even was. He soon began to think that there were too many Israelites and he was worried that they would rise up to defeat Egypt, just by their sheer number. Being fruitful and multiplying was apparently not something they had to be coached to do. So he went to the Hebrew mid-wives that were delivering babies for the Israelites and instructed them to kill every baby if it was a boy. Girls were allowed to live. But these mid-wives feared the Lord and would not kill the babies. God blessed them with families of their own. Their faithfulness was rewarded. Don’t miss that!

But realizing the strength of the Israelite people and that they weren’t going away, Pharoah made a horrific demand of the Israelites whom he feared so much. He ordered that all the Israelite baby boys who were born were to be thrown into the Nile River.

Can you imagine? It’s hard to even think about what that must have been like. The mourning. The tears. The heart-break. Carrying a baby for 9 months and then having someone tear them from your arms? As awful as this is to think about, it’s important to feel the emotion of these stories in the Bible. These were real people and they suffered serious pain.

One day during this turmoil, a “fine-looking” baby was born to Jochebed. He was her third child. She must have felt there was something special about him or perhaps it was just simply that her Mother-instinct kicked in and she was not going to allow Pharoah to pull her son from her arms and throw him into the bottom of a river to drown. Yea, that was probably it.

Jochebed was apparently passionate and came up with a plan to save her baby’s life. She hid him in her home for three months, which was as long as she could. Remember, they didn’t have insulated dry walled homes like we do and when baby’s cry, it is loud!  So, she made something small, which had a remarkable impact on God’s people. She took a papyrus basket and covered it with tar and pitch and made a “waterproof floating-bed” for her baby… and this was before Pinterest! She used what she had. She got creative and God used her passion to save the life of the next leader of His people! The story of Moses is all through the book of Exodus. Read it for yourself and you’ll see what a great impact this decision had on the nation of Israel.

Small stuff….huge impact!

I’ve never considered myself “crafty”, although I have lots of friends who are. I love seeing the way their minds work as they see life differently than I do and come up with crafts I could never dream of!  However, I did recently purchase a mini glue-gun for a project I am working on for one of my girls. And I will admit, that on more than one occasion, I’ve been heard saying, “Don’t worry girls. I can fix that. I have a glue-gun!” I just love that God can take a little creativity and a little burning passion and allow a woman to do something amazing for Him, like Jochebed did.

So how can you be creative with your resources to impact others? If you have something that you’d like to share, I’d love to hear from you! Join me this week as we look at a few more small things that have had a great impact.

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

