I just wanted you to know…

I’m writing today to those who do not believe in Jesus Christ.  Perhaps you’ve been burned by the church and now you want nothing to do with God.  See, I hear the same things you hear. I hear those who call themselves Christians or Christ-followers spewing hate. I hear the political fighting and the bashing of your morals. But not every Christ-follower acts this way or thinks this way. Many of us love with all we have, albeit flawed-but we don’t make headline news. I understand that you may have a lot of questions about the stories in the Bible that seem just a little far-fetched. I get it. I’ve had a lot of the same questions myself.

First, let me just say, I’m sorry. I’m sorry that “we” have been hateful. I’m sorry that we have not done a good job of listening to you. I’m sorry that while we are passionately pursuing what we believe to be right, we have hurt you in the process. I’m sorry that we don’t often offer the same grace that we’ve been given. That’s not how God intended it to be. I believe He has a message for you. I believe He wants to meet you where you are today. I believe He loves you and desires to have a relationship with you. I also believe that I’d have to hate you a whole lot to keep my mouth shut and not tell you this.

Over the years, I’ve begun to read the Bible with new eyes. It begins with the story of God’s chosen people Israel, whom He dearly loves. However, they chose many other things to worship instead of Him. Many of the stories you’ll read and phrases like God saying, “I am a jealous God” are to them, these people who He loves, but many don’t love Him back. He was jealous for their love, just like He desires to have your affection. Not because He has an ego problem, but because He created you and has a plan for your life that involves Him.

When Jesus came to the earth, people hated him. Well, some followed him and loved what he was doing for them, healing the sick and causing blind people to see, but many were threatened by him, much like they are today. He was toughest on the religious people.  And for those who didn’t know him at all, he was much more gentle and forgiving, but he spoke the truth unashamedly. He stood in the dirt with a woman who found herself in an adulterous relationship. She was brought before Jesus for stoning by the religious leaders and Jesus told them, whoever had never sinned, should go ahead and cast the first stone. One by one each of the men walked away. Each one realizing they weren’t without fault either. Grace had been given to them and to her. Jesus told her to go and leave this life of sin.

Jesus Christ died a gruesome death on the cross. Even if you have no religious background whatsoever, you’ve probably seen the movies of this. It was disgusting what the people did to him. But, it was God’s plan to save people. He took your sin and mine and forgave it that day on the cross so that we could be in relationship with God if we would only ask and receive His gift of new life. We’ve been told in the Bible that not many will choose Jesus. In fact, he uses the example that the road is narrow for those who will actually choose him. And he says that the road is very wide that leads to death. And this is what we see happening all around us. Many want nothing to do with God. But there are some of us who love Him deeply and want you to know Him too.

I write to you today, because I want you to experience the love of Christ that I have experienced. It’s mysterious. I can’t answer every single “why” question about what He does. But, I choose to put my faith and trust in His Son Jesus and the salvation and forgiveness that comes through His death on the cross for me.  The Bible tells us that hell is a real place of eternal torment where many, who have not placed their faith in God will spend eternity.

As a Christian, I receive His peace in difficult times. He tells us to come to Him for rest and He will carry our burdens. I understand that I’m not perfect and honestly don’t have much to offer you, except for this, which is the greatest gift I could share with you. I pray for you as you read this, because my hope is that you would fall in love with Jesus Christ and sense His presence and love and forgiveness. He knows you fully and still chooses to love you.

God,
I am a sinner in need of your help. Please forgive me of my sin, which has separated me from you. I want to know you. I want to experience your love and grace. I accept the gift of salvation through your Son Jesus’ death on the cross for me. Please, come into my life. I place my faith and trust in you and I will allow you to guide my life as I follow your lead.
In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Friend, if you have asked Jesus to be your Lord today, I rejoice with you! Please let me know!

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I just wanted you to know…

  1. V LO says:

    How do I post this to FB?! Great one!
    Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

    • shannalehr says:

      Thanks Vanessa! If you go to my facebook page, you can just click “share” from my link there. Or you can cut and paste the web address to your page and share that way.

  2. Aimee says:

    Shanna, That is such a beautiful testimony to the love of God. Thank you for sharing your heart in such a real way. I pray that the Lord will bless and bring many to a saving knowledge of himself by what you wrote.

  3. Pam Lenhart says:

    Yes, God does have a plan for our lives. Thanks for laying it out so plain and clear. Praying with you.

  4. david lenhart says:

    Shan, this is a beautiful display of God’s grace. Thank you and I love you.
    Dad

Leave a Reply

