Compassion

India, Haiti, Columbia, Uganda, Bolivia and so many more…
Little children running around the streets with dirty feet. Hungry children asking for food. Not enough education to go around. This is the plight of so many children around the world. They want more, but get less.

She has siblings who may not get to go to school. She used to be one of many children who needed sponsorship in order to go to school. She was just another picture of a child who awaited some much-needed help.  But to us, she is our friend, Yhesica. A six-year-old little girl who was born just a month after our first-born daughter. She lives in Bolivia with her very poor family. She likes dolls and is learning to read.

Yhesica has parents. Praise the Lord! But without financial support to go to school, she would have to work day in and day out and not receive the gift of education. Many of these children are unattended all day long unless they are in school or working along-side their parents. Day care isn’t an option. What if someone comes to the door? We wouldn’t dream of doing this here in the US.

Her tutors tell us how kind and gentle she is. She colors pictures for us. She’s just a little girl, much like mine.

Who knows what God has in store for Yhesica? Who knows what further rolls God will ask us to play in her life? Will she come to the US for college? Now, that would be fun! My children talk about her regularly and pray for their little friend in Bolivia. She has been a gift to our hearts. We help her, but she has blessed us.

I grew up with parents who recognized that there was a big world out there and they wanted us to experience it. After high school and an incredible trip to Europe, I went off to college. It was through those experiences that I realized what a big world there really was and that I wanted to be part of it. It was also at my Christian College that God grabbed my heart deeply and began what’s been a real journey of seeking Him with my whole life. I want that for Yhesica too. In fact, if I’m honest, I want that for all those children that Compassion and World Vision work so tirelessly to care for.

As Christians, we’ve been commanded to “go into all the world and make disciples”. This is one way that our family obeys this command. It’s a privilege to be a part of God’s movement around the world. There are currently more than one million children sponsored by Compassion International, but there are many more waiting. Will you consider helping just one? http://www.compassion.com/default.htm

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Compassion

  1. Yes, yes, yes!!! One of our favorite things in life is writing our monthly letters to our compassion kids. As time goes on, I notice the kids talking about them more and more too and wondering WHEN we are going to get to meet them. They call us “Aunt Angela and Uncle Dan”, which melts my heart, and they are so grateful for the help and the opportunities they are given b/c of sponsorship. They are defintely a greater blessing to us than we are to them, with our tiny little gift. And oh, how we long to see them grow up and lead amazing lives!!!! Thanks for this post Shan…this is a small thing we can all do that yields great consequences! 🙂

Leave a Reply

