One reason…

I love the Lord, because he hears and answers my prayers. Because he bends down and listens, I will pray as long as I have breath!  Psalm 116:1-2
Not too long ago, I memorized these verses and had my children do the same. It’s a wonderful reminder that we are never alone as children of God. This group of Psalms are known as “Hallel Psalms”. Hallel consists of six Psalms (113–118), which are said as a unit, on joyous occasions. On those occasions, Hallel is usually chanted aloud as part of Shacharit (the morning prayer service). It is also recited during the evening prayers the first night of Passover.  (wikipedia.com)

I find that interesting, because as I’ve memorized these verses, I’ve found myself saying them in moments that I just want to tell the Lord “why” I love Him.  I recite them now in gratefulness for His presence.

If you don’t regularly memorize scripture, I would really encourage you to start. I believe God loves when we pray His Word and when we can easily recall it. I often think, if for some reason my Bible were ever taken away or my freedom to worship freely were taken away, the one thing that can’t be taken is what is hidden in my heart.

Set your mind on things above, not on earthly things. Colossians 3:2

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One reason…

  1. great reminder. i love listening to music where the lyrics are straight scripture. I love this for my kids too. i have always been able to memorize better if it is set to a tune. and the kids start memorizing scripture, putting it deep in their soul, with out even always knowing… i know that it will come back out at just the right time as it has in my own life.

Leave a Reply

