God, it’s not good enough!

While you probably wouldn’t like to admit this and neither do I, we are too often in a place of discontent. We wish for something someone else has or maybe we plan, dream or aspire to make something happen that we just “know” would make us happy.

What we’re actually saying is, “God, what you’ve given me isn’t good enough. I want something else”.

I was recently flooded back into my childhood days when I heard that one of my children had said to another, “I’m prettier than you.” This, of course turned their pleasant play-time into Drama #13,485. We had to talk it out with a few Bible stories and other practical life-skill references. They hugged it out and then asked for forgiveness from one another, but I remember it all so well from my own childhood. I explained to them that when we say things like that to someone, we’re essentially saying, “I don’t like how God made you. It’s not good enough for me.” Or perhaps out of jealousy, she was wishing she looked like that sister and instead of complimenting her, decided to insult her.

But as adults, we do this in so many other ways and social media certainly doesn’t help. “Wow, she vacations a lot.”  “Her husband is so great. I wish mine would ____.”  “Another gorgeous wedding. When is it going to be my turn?” “Where does she find the time to ____?”
Aren’t we then saying, “God, what you’ve given me just isn’t good enough. I want something else…what they have.”

Then he said to them, “Watch out! Be on your guard against all kinds of greed; a man’s life does not consist in the abundance of his possessions.” Luke 12:15

So what can we do when this feeling creeps its way in? Because, the fact is, it’s probably going to again.

Consider this with me: Is it possible that God’s supernatural infinite mind has a better grasp of what is best for you? For who can know the LORD’s thoughts? Who knows enough to give him advice? Romans 11:34  Perhaps in your “waiting or wishing” period He actually wants to cultivate something new in your life. He may want to grow you in-depth or strengthen the load you’re willing to carry while you wait on Him. He may want to pry your latched-on fingers off the very thing you’re holding onto, because it’s not Him or even something that will bring Him glory.

I remember last year as we were in a period of waiting for our house to sell, the Lord gave me a verse. After approximately 45 house showings with a new baby in tow and 3 other busy children, I felt at the end of my rope. I went on a run to clear my head and this is what the Lord spoke to me from Isaiah 40:31…

but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength;
they shall mount up with wings like eagles;
they shall run and not be weary;
they shall walk and not faint.

How appropriate that He would give me this verse while I was on a run huffing and puffing and praying that our house would just “sell already!” But God had something else in store…Another 45 showings and a huge price drop before it sold months later. In case you’re adding, that was a total of 90 showings! Funny thing was, I had learned this verse as a young lady. This was my school’s theme verse from 6th grade to 12th grade. We quoted it together in assembly every Monday for all those years and then God brought it back to me to show me that when I wait on Him, He is actually at work growing my perseverance and dependence on Him.

I say that verse to myself very often now as I run. I want to soar through this life strong and bold like an eagle, run through difficulties and not grow weary, walk in the every day and not faint. I want to say, “I trust you God. I know what you have planned is better than what I can think up for my life. You created me. You know me. You also know the end of my story, so I choose to trust your plan.”

Will you join me in this? Will you cling to all that God has given you to do today and trust that it’s not just good enough, but that it’s perfectly planned for you?

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to God, it’s not good enough!

  1. Bennette Lee says:

    Shanna,
    Thanks so much for your transparency. I have clinical depression and at times I feel sorry for myself. I have so many blessings but yet I feel sorry for myself at times. I pray often just to be happy in whatever circumstances I find myself. Thank you so much for this post…you are wise way beyond your years.
    BL

  2. Contessa says:

    I was actually praying this morning that my house would “sell already”! Thanks for posting this, such a good reminder and my favorite verse. Thanks again.

  3. Pam Lenhart says:

    LOVED this! Our trouble really IS to grow us and make us more like Jesus! Thanks Shan.

  4. Tanya Bacon says:

    That’s a very honest way to look at how we view the world spinning around us! If we focus on gratitude toward God for the things He has given us and the place He has strategically put us, we will realize that it is good enough because it is from Him! What a challenge to be thankful and satisfied. “At the moment, I have all that I need…more than I need.” (Not sure the verse, but I know Paul said it when he was in a pretty “terrible” place.) 🙂

Leave a Reply

