Strong

“For the eyes of the Lord run to and fro throughout the whole earth to show himself strong on behalf of those whose hearts are loyal to him.” 2 Chronicles 16:9

There has been this theme in my life recently. At times it’s what the Lord whispers to my heart in quiet moments spent with Him. A couple of weeks ago, it was a preacher quoting the above verse an hour after I said it to a friend. I had to laugh to myself. Maybe I wasn’t the only one getting this message. My Bible tells me that difficulties are promised to those who love the Lord. It’s “when” they come that we are to fall at His feet. Not, “if” difficult times come. And it’s during these “rock your world” moments that the Lord gives you deeper, less superficial roots. This way, you aren’t so shaken the next time trouble comes.

I was 6 years old when I sat in my room one night before bed and asked Jesus to be my Savior. I told myself that I “would not go to bed” until I had done so. He had a calling on my life…Strong.

There was that time that I was riding a bike at our friend’s house in Tennessee, almost wiping out at the bottom of a busy intersection, and the Lord sent my Dad, running after me faster than he knew he could, to save my 8-year-old life. He still remembers…Strong.

There was the recognition of this family that I was born into. They loved me and wanted me to know about Jesus and so they took the time to tell me…Strong.

There was that first day at a new school when I was in just 6th grade. Who would be my friend? He provided some special girls that walked with me for years…Strong.

There was that time that I needed to be out of a relationship that wasn’t good for me and the time He brought my husband to a restaurant of all places, to meet me, so that we would fall in love….Strong.

There was that time in college when I felt God telling me that what I had planned for my life wasn’t what He had planned and that following Him would be the only thing that would bring true satisfaction…Strong.

There was that moment when I received my nursing license. A lot of tears and hard work had been spent, but it would open amazing doors in my life. God used this “job” to save people and to get my husband through Seminary…Strong.

There was that time that God called Scott and I to start a church. Partners in life and ministry, we laid our hands over a map of the world and said, “Anywhere. You choose.” He laid ideas and visions on our hearts of what could be. He gave us a heart for a city we had never lived in. He had a plan…Strong.

There was the despair of the diagnosis of a disease and a new pregnancy where my precious child would be greatly affected. We turned to Him and said, “Where else would we go? You have the words to eternal life!” He healed me and gave me such a deep sense of His presence that my life hasn’t been the same since…Strong.

There was that year that seemed too much for me. I had lots of little children and a husband dealing with anxiety.  I felt alone, overwhelmed and scared of the future. God met me in that dark place and shined the light of His truth on our family. Honesty and vulnerability were healing. We felt washed over by His grace…Strong.

It’s these times that allow us to live Strong! How has He shown himself strong to you? I’d love to hear from you!

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Strong

  1. vanessa says:

    you were 6!! wow! I think I was 11 or so. I have it written in my first Bible, that has my name engraved in it. I went to my pastors office and sat down and had the conversation and accepted Christ. I got baptized shortly after that. I was in Wyoming.

  2. shannalehr says:

    Precious memories at any age! Love that Vanessa!

Leave a Reply

