Tired?

Are you feeling tired?

I know it’s a new day and I should probably be saying, “Let’s do this day!” like I’ll occasionally write as my Facebook status update. Some mornings, I’m ready to conquer the world, but other times I’m just plain tired and anything I accomplish on those days would prove to be nothing short of a miracle. I think you may know what I mean. We all have these days. Sometimes, they turn into weeks and even months, leading to an unfortunate downward spiral. So let’s talk. How do you deal with your fatigue?

Just yesterday, I spoke to someone who was struggling with this exact feeling. Fatigue, funk, call it what you will, it doesn’t feel so great. Especially if you feel like others around you are accomplishing much and you’re left sitting there wishing you could get out of bed. When my first couple of babies were young, I couldn’t believe the fatigue I felt. I wondered if I would ever feel rested again or inspired to do anything more than meet their immediate needs. I still feel that some days. I’ve learned that my fatigue is a natural part of life, especially during certain seasons. It forces me to consider my frailty and pushes me to depend on God.

Consider the heart of a King in Psalm 23. Talk about accomplished! But, even he felt weary.

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.

    He makes me lie down in green pastures.

He leads me beside still waters.

    He restores my soul.

Sometimes the best thing you can do when you’re tired is go on a walk by yourself, or sit by a lake you enjoy. If you’re like me, you’ll go on a run or a quiet drive and ask the Lord to refresh you. These are some of my favorite times. I ask the Lord to meet with me there and you know, He always does! Whichever avenue you choose, the fact is that being by yourself in nature can allow you to gain great refreshment from the Lord that you just may not be able to get within the walls of your home. Try it. You just might be surprised. And while the problems that might be causing your fatigue don’t wash away by the still waters, your perspective about them might.

He restores my soul…

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tired?

  1. Tanya Bacon says:

    (The Message) Psalm 23 :

    1-3 God, my shepherd!
    I don’t need a thing.
    You have bedded me down in lush meadows,
    you find me quiet pools to drink from.
    True to your word,
    you let me catch my breath
    and send me in the right direction.
    4 Even when the way goes through
    Death Valley,
    I’m not afraid
    when you walk at my side.
    Your trusty shepherd’s crook
    makes me feel secure.
    5 You serve me a six-course dinner
    right in front of my enemies.
    You revive my drooping head;
    my cup brims with blessing.
    6 Your beauty and love chase after me
    every day of my life.
    I’m back home in the house of God
    for the rest of my life.

    Love it. 🙂 Thank you. I am definitely memorizing it again!

  2. Geneva says:

    Loved that last sentence , “And while the problems that might be causing your fatigue don’t wash away by the still waters, your perspective about them might.”

  3. Bennette Lee says:

    I remember going through that period in life but as soon as I got up and put my make up on (for my husband) I felt much better, more human. My husband was in grad school at the time and I was a stay at home mom with three babies under the age of two. Fond memories, Shanna…thanks for the memories.

Leave a Reply

