New Hope

The other morning I woke to a quiet house, which is typical these days. I rise early to have some much needed refreshment from the Lord and to get ready before all the little people in my life come rushing down the steps to start our busy day. It’s my few uninterrupted minutes of the day. No little people nibbling away at me. Well, they don’t really nibble, but the “I’m hungry” and “Mommy, can you?” can feel a little bit like nibbling at times.

But as the morning continued and I was serving myself some coffee,  I felt this sense of loneliness in my own home. The hallways were quiet. No one was asking for a snack, or a drink, or a cup, or a …you get the picture. It was just quiet. In that moment, I said, “Oh Lord, thank you for the little girls that fill this house! They make my life so rich!” But in that instant, I was also reminded of my responsibility to them. Psalm 78:4-7 tells us that we need to teach the next generation so they will know God’s truths and so they will set their hope anew on God. I have been so challenged by this passage over the past few years and there it was again, flooding my thoughts.

I want my children to know God like I know Him. But I know Him, because I personally have trusted in Him as my Lord and Savior. I have spent time getting to know Him through His Word. And, because He has shown His power in my life, I believe in a very personal and intimate Creator. So, I’ll spend time teaching my children so they too, will put their hope in God. I pray that they will see a love in me that makes them want to have their own stories, their own NEW HOPE in Him.

A few things to take away from these verses. There are many, but let’s just hit a couple:

1. I need to share God’s Word with my children. I know this sounds basic for some, but it’s revolutionary. Just this week a woman shared with me about how she has started sharing the simple truth that “Jesus loves you!” with her baby. She felt silly saying this to such a small child, but she realized that she had to start somewhere. I loved that she chose to start there! It’s foundational to teaching your children the Christian faith. You’ll dive into all the other deep parts later and you can explain the passover another time, but don’t miss this simple truth. Say it often. Sing songs about Him. The more you talk about the Lord, the more comfortable you will be in sharing your love for Him. And the truth is, as your children get older, they want to know if you really believe this stuff or if you just say you do. Your home is a safe training ground.

2. God has something new and fresh for my children. They don’t have to eat off my table with tales of past miracles He’s done, although that is a great start. They can feast on all the reasons He will give them to trust in Him. What a wonderful promise! I can’t wait to see what He does in their lives. Because God is still in the business of bringing glory to Himself, He will show my children their own new and creative reasons to love and obey Him!

Psalm 78:7
7 So each generation should set its hope anew on God,
not forgetting his glorious miracles
and obeying his commands.

About shannalehr

My name is Shanna Lehr. I'm blessed to be the wife of Scott Lehr and mother to Ella, Ava, Janie and Gracie Belle. I love to cook, travel, run, and spend time with my family. My life has been changed by Jesus and I love to share him with others. Stop back often and join the conversation by leaving a comment. I love to hear from you! You can connect with me on Twitter: @ShannaLehr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Hope

  1. vanessa says:

    I like this, I already copied some of it and shared with my mom. You use the word Flourish a lot in some of our discussion, at Church in the past, so I think this title fits you very well!!!

  2. Jenn H. says:

    Thanks, Shanna! I totally identify with this post. I had never read Ps. 78 with a mother’s eye, but I appreciate you pointing those verses out — awesome!

Leave a Reply

